Brand New 1st Time Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

caraballo70

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello Everyone. I am a newbie and I appreciate the time you all take to read my post. I have alot to say and I hope that as a 1st time poster - that I do not offend this forum.
To put it simple. I am lost, confused and overwhelmed!!
The Good News is that I have not started. :wink:
A family member has moved - in turn I was given his entire set up as a free gift. :lol:

First let me start by telling you what I have:

(1) 55 Gallon Glass Tank
(2) Skilter 250 Power Filter w/ Protien Skimmer
(1) EHEIM 2215 External Canister Filter (Spray Bar for Tank)
(1) Custom Sealife Double Helix Ultra Violet Sterilizer 9W
(2) 48" 260W Satellite SmartPaq Dual Lamp (10,000K/460NM Actinic) with four built in lunar moon beams.

These are the Chemicals given to me:

(1) Bottle of Seachem Prime
(1) Bottle of Nutrafin Cycle
(1) Box/Bag of ROWAphos Phospate Remover/Absorbent
(1) Box/Bag of IONIC
(1) Bottle of Kent Marine SuperBuffer-DKH
(1) Box/Bag of Tropical Marin "ELIMI-PHOS"
(http://www.tropic-marin.com/web/english/homepage.html)
(1) Bottle of Marine Land - Black Diamond Activated Carbon
(1) Bottle of Bacter Vital
(http://www.marcweissco.com)