Buying live rock online?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DurTBear

Aquarium Advice Activist
Has anyone ever purchased LR online? I just recently purchased about 15 lbs of LR and 10 lbs of base rock. However, I'm a little disappointed in the condition of the rocks. I don't know what to base it on because I've never done it before. But the rocks definitely don't look like the pictures they show on the internet (not that I'm totally surprised about that). Anyway, it seems as though there used to be decent color on the rock. For the people that have purchased over the internet, how does your rock look when you first received it and how long did it take to "come back to life." Thanks!

I`ve bought all my LR from the LFS so I`ve not bought it online but it will sometimes look bad but as you add it to your tank it will go back to it`s beautiful self provided your calcium level is where it needs to be. When you get it from online you need to scrub it really good in SW and then cure it unless you are currently cycling your tank in which you can cure it as you cycle your tank.

Thanks for the input guys. I'm basically starting a new tank so I'm just curing it as I cycle it. After looking at those pictures, maybe I should pull the rock out and give it a good scrub? I rinsed it in salt water and tried to just hand rub off all the loose debris before putting it in the tank.

So I bought my live rock from oceanproaquatics.com. Maybe I should have ordered from liveaquaria.com! I'll probably need some more so I'll consider ordering from them. Here is a link to a thread with a picture of the tank after adding all the rock. The pic is at the end of the thread and sorry it's kind of dark:

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=92640

Almost all of my LR is from the LFS.
Almost all of my base rock is from local construction sites (coral bedrock).