Chiller Problem/ Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hawaii50

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok, I have a chiller that is rated for 100min to 400max GPH flow rate thru it. I have a Mag Drive 5 pump that is pushing the water thru the chiller. At a 4ft head it says 310gph. I used 3/4 in PVC for the intake and return. I have a total of 4 90degree elbows on the PVC, 2 on each piece to get over the wall of the aquarium. The rest of the line is 3/4 inch flexable tubing. My problem is the chiller is not cooling. I have returned the original one which worked for about three months, and gotten a replacement and the same thing happens. The chiller unit is rated for a max of 100gal tank I have a 55gal. My question is do I have to much or to little flow? Is there a way to find out exactly what my flow is? I know this might be a hard one to answer but I need some help I am really starting to get fustrated. Thanks everyone.

you can get a rough handle on your flow by taking the outlet and routing it to a bucket of known capacity - time how long it takes to fill the bucket, and from that compute your GPH

as for your chiller not working, we need more details on the model, how many horsepower, etc... althought it says up to 100 gallon tank, if your thermal load is high enough, it might outstrip the chillers abilities.

The chiller is a ViaAqua CC25. 1/4HP
Features -

* TITANIUM HEAT EXCHANGER for maximum salt water corrosion protection
* Only unit on the market currently which utilizes super high efficient UL/CE rotary compressor
* Quieter than 9 out of 10 chillers on the market
* Good for up to 100 gallon tank and 10 degree pulldown
* Digital Temperature control
* LCD displays water temperature
* Controller turns unit on when temperature rises 1.5 degree
* R134a Refrigerant
* Recommended 100-400GPH flow
* Dimensions 14.4"x12"x10.2"