Complete saltwater noob

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

The_Desacrator

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey guys I am a complete noob to saltwater fish. My dad had a saltwater deck yars ag, before my parents got divorced. The tank I have is a 60gal. If my questions seem silly, keep in mind I don’t have a clue.

Questions
1. What is live rock?

2. can I use a regular freshwater filter?

3. do I need an r/o unit?

4.what king of substrate?? I am guessing sand. Give me a link/explain which brands are good?

5. how long should I cycle? is the freshwater cycle any different to the saltwater one? Can i use freshwater cycle in saltwater?

6. what brand of salt?

7. how to distribute the tank. Do I need fertilizers or special food for anenomies?

8. is it ok to feed live fish to the lionfish?

9. do i need a special heater?

10. Any kinds of chemicals that i need?

Can these guys get along together in the same tank?
2 clown fish
1 lionfish
A shrimp of some kind
Anenomies
eel

Hi live rock is base rock that has been seeded with live rock which has alga growth over it
It has a few functions
1 works as a filter for your marine tank
2 also a food source for some breads of fish and inverts
3 looks good
4 something for your corals to attach to
5 provides shelter for some species

What lion fish are you after ? Because some of the bigger ones will eat the clowns and the shrimp your eel will also eat the shrimp I've got a 55g with a valitine puffer a coral beauty and a snow flake eel got a zebra lion fish on hold at the lfs ( waiting for him to eat frozen food) I would not feed your lion live feeder fish as it can kill them (not good for their liver can also give them lock jaw)
A 300 watt aqua 1 heater would be a good heater mine is fine
I would stay away from useing to many chemical be paitent your whole tank could crash if you use to many chemicals