Couple of basic questions from a newbie...(Added Pic)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CrossRamZ11

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

Great Forum, Yes, I am a newbie, I have my first FO tank, cycling since May 26th. Here are some of the specs:

55 Gal. FO
1 40w 48" 10K bulb
60lbs of dead coral (was removed from live tank by LFS the day or 2 before, still damp)
Fluval 404 Filter
Zoomed Sweeping PH I have excellent flow throughout the tank
1 small airstone
I have a CC substrate
PH is at 8.0
I apologize for not having the Ammonia and Nitrite with me, I have a short term memory problem right now, but I think the Ammonia is around .25-.or so for the last week...I have been testing every night.
Sal is at 1.022
Tank is constant 79deg
I included a large cup full of CC and one piece of dead coral from my neighbors established tank.

I have 2 2-striped damsels, and 1 fiji damsel in the tank now, all are doing very good, very healthy and eating well

My question is, I am starting to see some algea growth on coral that is closer to the top of the tank, kind of a reddish-brown, on about 3 pieces, including the one from the neighbors tank. Also, the CC substrate is starting to get some darkening on the top.

I have read that you can expect an algae bloom when the tank is finished cycling, but I know less than 2 weeks is too short to be complete by now...I have tried to do everything by the book. Is this something I should be worried about, or an indication that something is amiss in the tank?

I am hoping someone can give me some insight. I now wish I would have went with the DSB, and a few pieces of LR...Would that help if I added them now? Even placing 10 pounds of live sand on top of the CC? I am afraid I will ruin the cycle?

I am open to any and all advice, be it critical or not, it is the only way to learn.