Curing Rocks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mhorgunn

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a complete newbie to salt water tanks and I've had some issues already with the local store. They are delvering my tank on Friday. That's the good news. They were suppose to be also bringining the water, live sand and cured fiji rock. Now they are saying that they are bringing rock that isn't cured. I've got a couple of books that give me directions of curing the rock in the primary tank as you start the cycle ... comments?

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
The addition of uncured LR in a brand new tank is not really a bad thing. When adding it to a new tank, it can help with the cycling process. However, I hope they did not charge you for the price of cured LR when they gave you uncured LR. We have some great info on "fishhless cycling" in the ARTICLES section on the top of the page.

Well yeah they did. I paid for everything up front. But they are delivering and settling it up for free. But after reading about the process I'm not too thrilled with the prospect especially with the tank being next to my wife's seat at the dinner table. :)

Thanks for the welcome.

So in general what is the difference in price of live rock and cured live rock?

There are different types of rock, base (completely dead and dry, that is usually is white in color), uncured rock (that has been out of the water and doesn't have any beneficial bacteria or much life on it, but will become live) and live rock, that hosts the beneficial bacteria and is typically already in the LF'S display tanks.
Around my area, cured LR is about $8.99/LBs and I haven't found any base rock or uncured rock.