Cycling question? Undecided

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ducatiboss

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So everyone just a quick intro Im new to AA and have been out of the aquarist hobby for over 20 years now. Just finished building a 150 gallon tank with a 55 gallon sump. Now here comes the problem. My wife has always been a SW fish hobbyist now me I have always been a FW. She really wants this tank to be a SW and Im not convinced but she usually always gets her way. Now I am in the process of doing a fishless tank cycle.. Its been cycling for a few days now and I expect it to take 6-8 weeks to cycle. So the question is, If I do decide to make this a SW tank will adding the Instant Ocean Salt mess up my cycling. I mean we are creating good bacteria for our tank and If I add the salt It shouldn't hurt right? I don't think this will create a problem but I wanted to get some ppl's perspective on this. Ohh and I can't ask my wife cause she will dog me for days, but did say it wouldn't hurt the cycling since it just started. She said just add a couple of dead shrimps along with some live rock in the sump. Happily Married for 13 years now. :banghead:

As far as I know fresh and saltwater nitrification bacteria are different. When you add the salt you will kill all your freshwater bacteria. And will have to start from scratch. I just recently converted a freshwater tank to saltwater and watched the cycle go through its steps all over again.

PS I left all the filter media alone hoping like you that it would just work. I don't believe it did. Luckily only put 1 Damsel in there and I did not lose him.

May I ask how long did you wait? I know that this process will test someones patience.