Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-19-2013, 08:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Diatoms, go AWAY!!!

i have a handed down tank that is already cycled. this past weekend when i left for a short vacay i accidentally had my power compact light fixture on the whole time. needless to say, by the time i came back my tank is filled with diatoms. is there a way to get rid of them naturally through some clean up crews? i'm aware that time will make it go away. also the fact that the diatoms are indications of phosphate and nitrate in water. i'm still a noob so i would like to hear all sides. i want it gone NOW!!!


ps. i came back around 1AM this morning and i will do a water change after getting off from work.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG698.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	213.1 KB
ID:	193122  
__________________

__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:39 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Its cyano!!! Use just your actinic lights more and you 10K less
__________________

__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 01:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
so i have noticed that there's some sort of brown stuff on top of the sand. is it the byproduct of dead diatom? it's not that brown, only slightly brown-er compare to my white live sand
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:21 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_dalmatia View Post
Its cyano!!! Use just your actinic lights more and you 10K less
It's definitely diatoms. They will eventually go away on their own. Every salt tank goes through various algae cycles. Just wait until you start seeing hair algae

Changing the spectrum of lighting won't do anything to combat either algae or cyano. Both are caused by excess nutrients in the tank.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post

It's definitely diatoms. They will eventually go away on their own. Every salt tank goes through various algae cycles. Just wait until you start seeing hair algae

Changing the spectrum of lighting won't do anything to combat either algae or cyano. Both are caused by excess nutrients in the tank.
actually, there's no nutrient in the tank. its a handed down tank already cycled with 2 hermit crabs. i barely feed them and when i do, i use a tweezer to hand feed them, so there shouldn't be excess nutrient
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:37 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
and before the diatom outbreak i had the light on for 6-8hrs a.day using a timer for two weeks,.up till the weekend that i accidentally turn the timer ON 24/7 for two days
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 12:39 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by huizheng1988 View Post
actually, there's no nutrient in the tank. its a handed down tank already cycled with 2 hermit crabs. i barely feed them and when i do, i use a tweezer to hand feed them, so there shouldn't be excess nutrient
The nutrient comment was more directed towards Ivan. The diatoms feed on excess silicates in the water and will go away in short order.

Quote:
Originally Posted by huizheng1988 View Post
and before the diatom outbreak i had the light on for 6-8hrs a.day using a timer for two weeks,.up till the weekend that i accidentally turn the timer ON 24/7 for two days
It's a good thing you hand feed your hermits or else your algae outbreak could have been much worse
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:26 AM   #8
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mebbid View Post

It's definitely diatoms. They will eventually go away on their own. Every salt tank goes through various algae cycles. Just wait until you start seeing hair algae

Changing the spectrum of lighting won't do anything to combat either algae or cyano. Both are caused by excess nutrients in the tank.
in order for all forms of algae to grow, they require only two things; light and nutrients. Dont know where you got that from?
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 09:27 AM   #9
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
The use of improper bulbs, lack of maintenance, and extended lighting hours are contributors that can lead to all sorts of algae problems.
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:16 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
No doubt it is Diatoms, not algae. Diatoms are a silica eating bacteria that consume sicates in new tank setups. The sand contains silicates as does the coral based rocks (because corals will feed on diatoms which have silicates in them because that's what they eat). If you try to curb the growth of diatoms, then they will last longer as there is a finite amount of silcates in your tank. As they grow snails and crabs will eat them off the sand and corals will eat them in the water coloum. Your skimmer will remove the CUC waste in turn, removing the diatoms and silicates from the tank while the corals will bond it into their structure. It will go away in a couple months if you allow diatoms to flourish, or a few more months if you try to stop it.
Phosguard (or Phos-zorb I think) will remove it when added to a reactor if you have one.

Blah. Wait it out.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:58 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
here's another question: the corners of the tank has this brown stuff. it's definitely not algae or anything. could it be a lack of circulation? i have two powerheads one koralia nano 425 and one aqua clear

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130828_205745.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	195028



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130828_205809.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	195029



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130828_205819.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	27.6 KB
ID:	195030
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:00 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
this is how i placed them

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130828_210005.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	195031
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:46 PM   #13
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Detritus maybe?
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 06:52 PM   #14
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
All so looks like your trying to make turbulent water flow. It won't work by directing your power heads at one an other with out a wave maker to make one go while the other is off. Try positioning them so they aren't fighting each other to much.
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:14 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan_dalmatia View Post
All so looks like your trying to make turbulent water flow. It won't work by directing your power heads at one an other with out a wave maker to make one go while the other is off. Try positioning them so they aren't fighting each other to much.
really? i was told by someone here to have the powerheads aimed at each other so that the flow will collide to create a "random" flow. so i'm getting conflicting advices.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 07:30 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by huizheng1988 View Post

really? i was told by someone here to have the powerheads aimed at each other so that the flow will collide to create a "random" flow. so i'm getting conflicting advices.
You were told correctly. The colliding flows will create some randomness. Not as much as wave makers but enough.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:01 PM   #17
member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dav3 View Post

You were told correctly. The colliding flows will create some randomness. Not as much as wave makers but enough.
That's wrong, slightly toward each other so they deflect water,,, not stop one another. That's as close your gonna get to simulate a wave. One into another will make a number 8 motion wich will leave you with lots of dead flow in areas
__________________
ivan_dalmatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 08:49 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
The colliding flows don't cancel each other out. The do indeed creat some randomness of flow. It isn't a wave motion but randomness of flow. I use this in my own tank.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:04 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
There is a rotating replacement cap for those powerheads that slowly rotates and causes a random flow. You only need that on 1 head. About $17, just get the right sized one.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 12:09 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingy View Post
There is a rotating replacement cap for those powerheads that slowly rotates and causes a random flow. You only need that on 1 head. About $17, just get the right sized one.
can you provide a link to the deflector you're referring to? i have a Hydro FLO deflector but it won't fit on a koralia pump
__________________

__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
diatom, diatoms

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.