Dumb ???: Water Changes - in what do you keep the water?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

YourPalCM

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have kept three freshwater tanks for a number of years. I'm finally going to take the plunge into Saltwater. I've been researching for a couple months and taking notes, but no where have I seen anyone answer this very simple question...

When changing the water in the tank, you should prepare the new saltwater at least 24 hours in advance. In what do you keep that water before you put it in the tank????? For example, say you have a 150g set-up. A 10% water change would be 15 gallons. Do you keep a bunch of buckets filled with saltwater until it's ready to be put in the tank? How do you assure it's at the proper temperature before putting it in, etc. if it's in multiple buckets?

I just use 5 gal buckets. You can go to wal-mart and get a big rubbermaid tub and use it instead if that is easier for you. You should use a PH and a heater to mix the water to get proper gas exchange. You can get a heater to get the water up to the right temp to match your tank.

Many guys just use a large Rubbermaid (or other) plastic can of appropiate gallonage and a wheeled cast beneath it so that its easy to roll from one room to another. Use a small pump to pump water out of the pail and into the tank.

Lifting heavy pails will hurt your back eventually and spilling the new SW is always a good thing to avoid.

I use a 25gal rubbermaid tub. Throw in a heater, powerhead and airstone for a day or so.

I use a generic big bucket. Put it in the tub on Friday, add a heater and ph, mix the salt and let it run for the weekend. I have a dolley that I wheel the bucket out in and use the old SW to clean out my filter.