Equipment brands

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Oceangirl123

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone

I'm starting my FIRST fish tank (50 gallon saltwater fowlr) and was wondering what brands you would recommend of equipment and the total cost.
I'm planning on getting:

Heater
Lighting and hood
2 powerheads
Protien skimmer
Air pump
Sump( what would you put in a sump?)

Also, do you recommend any other equipment?

Thanks!

Hello there. Welcome to AA. I'm new to the saltwater world myself, but have gained a bit of experience in the FW world. I've also done a lot of research to get my SW put together. Here are my recommendations.

For a 50 gallon tank, your biggest hit will probably come from live rock and your skimmer. You will need 60 to 80 pounds of live rock. At about $7 to $9 dollars per pound, this is going to be the big one! However, if you are patient, you can get "dry" rock instead. It is less expensive, but it takes more time and may create an odor as it cures.

Heater - Eheim (Maybe $50)
Lighting and hood - If you aren't doing coral, then whatever you can find in your budget will work. I use T5s on both our tanks, but am leaning toward LED
2 powerheads- Hydor was highly recommended to me. These aren't too terribly expensive, but you should do some research as to how many and how powerful you need for that tank.
Protien skimmer - This will probably be one of your big ticket items for sure! I recommend Reef Octopus or Eshopps ($300... maybe more)
Air pump - Do you mean water pump? I got a "Quiet One" for about $60, but the price depends on the pump. How far will your water be traveling from your sump to your tank? That is something to consider.