filtration

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

paul baxter

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,I am new to fish keeping.I am upgrading my filtration system as my current one is old school and high maintenace.I have few things I am not sure about.I am going to put living rock in my tank and two power heads and a prism skimmer.Would it be ok for me to add all my living rock at once or a bit at a time,and how long does it take to istablish.Also how good does my water need to be before adding L/R as it is a bit high in nitrates and a bit hard at the moment ,also my ph is a touch low.Could I leave a bit base rock in my tank and would it be colonised by the living rock in time.Also would I have to run my old system until the L/R was istablished.Would it be any benifit in leaving my internal filter in with carbon only in it as the filter houses my heater.Also Could I leave my under gravel filter in and take out the uplifts and cap of the holes.
Sorry about all the questions,any help will be much appreciated.
Regards paul baxter the fish out of water