filtration question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mdl91881

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm new to SW and had a question about filtration. I have an emperor 400 filter on a 55 gal tank. I need to get a protein skimmer but i don't know what to do. Would it be better to get a hang on skimmer, or to get a wet dry / skimmer combo or to get a separate wet dry and a separate skimmer. thanks

i only have experience with a hang on the back skimmer by seaclone. i really am satisfied with its performance. plus, for the money it was a great deal. im not a big fan of wet/dry filters as ive heard them called nitrate factories. i had one once and got rid of it cause i found with a good amount of live sand and live rock, and a skimmer the need for mechanical filtration is minimal. i only have a penguin 330 bio wheel on my 100 gallon reef. of course, i have 300 lbs of live rock crammed into my aquarium.

I prefer a wet/dry and a skimmer that can either go into the sump or next to it under the tank. If you are going to have a lot of live rock and a deep sand bed then I would only use a sump (way more room and plenty of other uses) the live rock and DSB will be your main filtration. Besides sumps are much cheaper than a complete wet/dry. In fact you could make a sump out of a rubbermaid container from Wal-mart (say 15gal) and then spend your money on a really good skimmer system. :)

P.S. I run my 90 gal Reef this way.

not sure on what the difference between a sump and a wet dry or how to set up a sump

sump