finally got my 75g tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

phongt86

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i just got water in the tank and salt its been running for about a week now.

whats next?
getting ready to buy live rocks in the next couple of days.

i am clueless about what im doing can anyone help me out with everything i need to know

i got a coralife aquapro light 48" but unaware how long or schedule the light should stay on

how much sand will i need and live rocks

just bought a 250watts marineland heater (do i need to buy one for the sump?)

i had all this equipment for free so i am new to all this but have everything running. got water drain from overflow box into sump and gets pump back with a pump with Y shape ends back into the tank (is the water pumping back in is suppose to be slow because if i goes to fast it drains my sump and cause a lot of bubbles)

my previous post have pictures of all the parts i had
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/need-help-putting-my-equipment-together-126820.html

Ok first, welcome to AA.
Second, while your cycling, which is what happens when you put the LR in, you don't need any light. The heater can go in the sump and that way it will heat the whole tank and you won't see it. As for amount of sand and rock, I'm not sure, I'm a metric guy. ;)
Cycling: This means your tank will build up the beneficial bacteria. This happens when you add an ammonia source or if you have die-off on your LR. What happens is bacteria will convert it into nitrite and then nitrate. When your parameters hit:
Ammonia 0ppm
NitrIte 0ppm
NitrAte <20ppm
Then your cycle is finished. This will take anywhere from 2 weeks to a month. The golden rule: Nothing good ever happens fast in a marine tank. :)

that was very helpful. anything else i should keep in mind?
do i put the rocks in first or the sand?