First SW Nano

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

treemanone2003

Aquarium Advice Addict
So it's my first attempt with SW. I chose the nano for two reasons. First was because of limited room and the second being I like a challenge since things can go from bad to worse pretty quickly.

It's a previously used, (free) Oceanic Bio Cube 12 gal that I started this 9 weeks ago. Put in about 14 pounds of LS and 6 of LR and let it run. The LR came from Petco with a snail and hermit crab hitchhiker. The snail left us about a week ago. Oh well, life goes on.

Went to a highly recommended (from a few friends) SW only LFS. I explained my whole story and asked some loaded questions. Got everything I was looking for as far as answers.

So, my girl and I came home with the following :
About a 6 pound chunk of LR and with it, 5 Brittle Starfish hitchhikers. ?
4 Nassarius snails
2 Astraea snails
1 Ricordia frag
1 Watchman Goby (Blue Dot)
1 Tiger Pistol Shrimp.

Since the addition, the hermit crab is all over the place. The Goby was the first in and disappeared right into the original LR. The shrimp was next and found a nice hole to hide in also. I'm not sure if they both know each other exist, but the Goby has found a new spot to chill. Neither like the hermit crab so far. Two snails are making the rounds and the other 4 knew what to do in the sand. The frag is opening up nicely and I think it's got a fair, but not over powering amount of flow.

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400896877.213916.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400896914.843126.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400896970.290303.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400897042.144914.jpg

I believe it is bribo. He never mentioned ever doing an upgrade of any kind. Tank was only used about for months total. Maybe the photo will help ? ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400938619.471847.jpg