Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2004, 09:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Foggy Quarantine Tank

Good morning everyone!
Well, I am somewhat puzzled.... My first step in this new hobby was to setup the QT which I did last Sunday. Installed everything and added the salt mixture and the QT has been running nicely and the water was clear, except for tiny bubbles (caused by the returned water). Yesterday, I get home to find the water all foggy! What gives??? I check the salinity and performed the 4 chemical tests and everything is where it should be as there is nothing else in the tank but SW. Any ideas anyone???

Thanks,

Serge
__________________

__________________
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 10:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 536
Are you using sand as a substrate? Jeff
__________________

__________________
In theory there should be no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Cafe Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 11:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Hi Jeff. No, there is no substrate or LR or anything else. It is a bare quarantine tank with: filtering system(integrated pump with carbon filter and bio wheel), light and heater. Nothing else, except the SW of course.

Thanks,

Serge
__________________
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 02:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweet Home ALABAMA
Posts: 338
What kind of water are you using? Could it be bacteria blooming? If so, your QT should clear up.
__________________
IfoundNemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 02:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Some type of algae bloom possibly.

I did a water change a month or so back on my main and my qt, and both tanks were cloudy for a few days, then it went away. My water parims were good.
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2004, 03:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Since I was filling up a brand new tank, I was told that I could fill it up with regular tap water. We can drink the stuff here. For now anyway.

All the equipment was heavily washed after unpacking. No soap, just rince, rince, rince.

So, if this appears to be "what-have-you" blooming, I'll sit tight and wait it out for a while to see what happens.

Thanks, Serge
__________________
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 07:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Well, the darn sting is still cloudy! Yesterday, thinking that perhaps it required more oxygenation (sp?), I got a small powerhead to provide more water circulation. It works nicely, lots of water movement and tiny air bubbles, but I did not noticed any difference this evening. This is getting depressing. My main tank has been ordered and should be here in 2 to 3 weeks, and the QT is still not cleared up. Would anyone have any additional suggestions?? It has been cloudy for a week (tomorrow).

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 07:36 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 414
Are you doing topoffs with tap water too? I would guess it is your water. Try making up some saltwater with RO water and do a 25% change every couple of days for one week and it should clear up. Do you have a tds meter to test your tap water. I used to drink my water at home too until I tested it with a TDS and it was almost 400. My RO ? DI unit was <$100 and it drops down my reading to zero. I have had no problems since I started using RO/DI water.
__________________
tmcpeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 07:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Hi tmcpeek.

I only added a little water this pas week-end, about a gallon or so because I had not filled it quite to the max. I was not aware that we had to have a TDS meter. Guess I will add this to my whish list. The RO/DI is on my list of must have. I do have some tap water treatment/conditioner product. They state one drop per gallon. I have to put up with this until I get the RO/DI system. I will do a 25% water change later this evening to see if this will help. Umm... If tap water is the issue, I wonder what it does to our stomach! 8O

Thanks.
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 08:36 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 414
Can you buy R/O water at the grocery store? It is like .30 a gallon here. A tds is one of the cheapest tools in this hobby. I have found it to be very helpful along with my refractometer to check salinity. I bought my ro/di from filtersdirect on Eblah. Good luck. If you can use some RO water for your changes I think you will be better off. I don't think those conditoners remove any minerals which may be causing your cloudy water IME. Good luck. How big is your QT and what size tank are you going to setup?
__________________
tmcpeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 08:56 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweet Home ALABAMA
Posts: 338
Some LFS do give away RO water for free. Reason for that is they want more traffics into their store. You should check around in your area.
__________________
75 gal SW
55 gal FW
IfoundNemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 10:29 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
Serge,

Did you add anything to start cycling your QT tank?

I agree that this is probably some type of algae bloom. Have you checked your tap water for phosphates? Perhaps your LFS can do this test for you.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 08:46 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Hi tmcpeek.

I don't know about availability of RO water, but I think that distilled water is water is available, either at the drugstore or supermarket. This could possibly temporarily resolve the foggy issue until I get the RO/DI filtering system. I agree with you that it only works for the chemical part of water not the particles floating around. Drats! The quarantine tank is not very large, 12 gallons, but it came with the basics. A marine starter kit from Big Al's: light, pump, filter with bio wheel, heater. I think it is a neat little kit and should be sufficient for a QT as I don't intend on bringing in more than one fish at a time. I also did a 25% water change, still using tap water , and adjusted the salt levels. Salinity was within the acceptable range.


To answer your inquiry, the main tank is a 125 gallons, 6 feet long. Reef ready with 4 wholes in the bottom. I plan on using one pair for the sump/filtering system, and the other pair for high level water circulation. I think it is called a closed loop.
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 08:53 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Rockland, Ontario
Posts: 1,439
Quote:
Did you add anything to start cycling your QT tank?
Umm... Did I miss something here?? From your question, I sense that I should have "something" in the tank to start the cycling? I thought I was only supposed to have something, like snails, in the main tank to initiate the cycling... Am I correct in assuming that I should put "something" in the QT to begin the cycle??

Thank you all for your time and ideas/suggestions! I am learning something new every time I visit in here. I go to bed less ignorant each time! 8)
__________________
Serge

Vote Here for Aquarium Advice
Serge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2004, 10:50 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,812
Check out this article about setting up a QT. If your QT tank is not already cycled then when you drop your new arrivals in the tank they will start the cycle there! As your main tank is not set up yet, you don't have the option of using main tank water or a filter from there for your QT. Therefore you should get the cycle going in the QT tank and have it complete before you get any livestock.

It sounds like you got a Marineland 12 for your QT. It has the carbon/filter pad and a small biowheel. That's what I use for my QT. I put the pad/filter in the main tank overflow for a several days to week before putting it into the QT so it has plenty of bacteria on the fiber material. You don't have that choice so you should get the tank cycled.

My 125 RR tank has both overflows going to the sump and back out as returns. The sump/returns are your high flow. A Fuge would be an area of lower flow. Did you tank not come with the overflow kits? AGA now offers Durso type overflow kits.

HTH,

Cmor
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fog, foggy, quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foggy tank Jarred Darque Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 04-19-2006 09:41 PM
Hypo works / Foggy tank question fishman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 05-03-2005 12:42 AM
New tank is a little foggy. Typical? runway1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-19-2005 04:12 PM
foggy water foma2000 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-28-2004 10:07 PM
Foggy Water Xabien Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 11-17-2003 01:43 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.