Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-25-2012, 02:00 PM   #1
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
fort's 57 gallon Rimless Reef Build

Ok, so after a couple weeks of mulling over what size tank to start, I have landed on a 57 gallon Oceanic Illuminata at my first reef tank.

Oceanic Systems » Oceanic Illuminata | Products

It is ordered, and due into my LFS some time in the next week or two.

That's basically as far as I have got so far.

For lighting, I am heavily leaning towards an Ecotech Radeon fixture, assuming 1 unit would be enough to light my tank appropriately. PAR readings on this fixture appear to be better than a 250W MH pendant, but I am worried about coverage/spread. I could use some advice and opinions on that. I know there are cheaper options out there, but I am pretty amazed with the functionality of this fixture, especially considering I can get it to work in concert with the Vortechs. The fixture would be suspended on wires from the ceiling over the tank, as I will run it open top.

I am also looking at the MP10w ES Vortech powerheads - probably 2 of them would get the job done in this tank.


The tank will come drilled with an overflow - I will need to figure out what I am going to do for a sump.

Any comments, advice, etc are welcome. I am brand new to the reef game, so I basically have no idea what I am doing.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
Nice tank! My lfs has one for sale right now, gorgeous setup and the starfire glass is a nice plus.

I think you will need two radions for a 57g though. :-(

The vortechs sound good, I think 2 mp10's are good unless you want just the one mp40.
__________________

__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bruinsbro1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: California Coastline
Posts: 5,663
Wow, this is going to look sweet! With the magic you pull off in your planted tanks I can only imagine the amazingness of this one.

Have you decided on any corals or fish/inverts yet?

Good luck! I'll be following along
__________________
"If you're not making mistakes, then you're not doing anything. I'm positive that a doer makes mistakes."
--John Wooden
bruinsbro1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 02:25 PM   #4
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Thanks!

If one Radeon is not enough I will probably look at other options. I don't know if I could bring myself to buy 2 of them.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 03:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TLTGF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,123
I've got the radion and (2) MP10w ES on a 54 corner tank.

One is just enough at 27", so for a standard length, you would need two.

As for the vortechs, I have (2) but they are dialed back to 50-55%. I think (1) MP40 would work fine.
__________________
TLTGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 04:56 PM   #6
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Ok, thanks TLTGF. I was debating between 1 MP40 and 2 MP10's. I figured the control on 2 MP10's would be better, should I have any flow issues after scaping.

If the consensus is that a single MP40 would be just fine, it would save me a hundred bucks or so.

I think I will look into something else for lighting. I would like to keep it under $1000 if I can... but definitely LED. But, I am not going to build a fixture...

Any opinions on the AI SOL? A 2 unit setup would meet the budget, I suppose.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:05 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TLTGF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,123
I went with the MP10's for the same reason. I am happy I did, but after using these I can see that easily (1) MP10 would've sufficed for my application, let alone a 40. I could go either way with it.

I read tons about the sol's vs. radion and a LOT of people like them. I have no experience with anything else, so can't really help.

Another option is the TaoTronics LED Chinese fixtures I've been hearing about. You can get them on eBay. Mr. X just put some on his build.

The thread is under Member's Showcase.
__________________
TLTGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:09 PM   #8
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I saw those - they are definitely an option. I would really like a dimmable fixture though, and also, the fixture is going to be ceiling mounted and suspended, so the fixture needs to look nice as well.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Purevil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,863
The AI Vegas are available for pre-order now, when they ship I couldn't tell you. Last I had heard they were suppose to be significantly more powerful than the Sols, though 2 Sols should do just fine on that tank.
__________________
It's been real AA.
Purevil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 05:27 PM   #10
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Yeah, the vegas look cool, but, I don't see specs on them. Also, I would think 1 might not be big enough, and 2 would be overkill. 2 SOLs ought to be about right from what I have seen looking around. You would know better than I.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:04 PM   #11
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,632
Two PH`s will be ideal as pointed at each other will provide chaotic water flow which imo is ideal. It`s basically what you see on the reef. Tank looks nice and should work good. What size tank will fit under the stand? As far as the sump or refuge I like the mag pumps. As far as the lighting I`m not up to date on LED`s. I`m still old fashioned by using VHO`s. Looking forward to the build.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:29 PM   #12
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Thanks Mike - the stand is 36" long, and I think 30 or 35" tall, so I ought be able to get a decent sized sump under the tank. However, I also think I need to plan for an ATO reservoir as well - I am sure I will see quite a bit of evaporation with an open top. I was thinking of trying to do something with about 24" length for a sump if I can get away with it, and leave 10-12" for a vertical type reservoir for the ATO. Not sure where that leaves me, or if that is possible. I suppose it is possible I could try and put the reservoir outside the stand, but as this tank will be in our main living area, I am sure the wife would appreciate things being as hidden as possible.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 02:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Purevil21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,863
Your ATO reservoir doesn't have to go under the stand necessarily. I have seen them hidden in everyday household items and placed next to the tank. I believe I saw the guys on BRS TV put one in a storage ottoman you can pick up at target. No one will ever know it's housing part of you life support system, of course I guess this assumes you have any room next to the tank for such things.
__________________
It's been real AA.
Purevil21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 03:48 PM   #14
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Let's talk skimmers - what would be some good options for a 57?
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TLTGF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 2,123
Here is the one I just got last week:

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/store/...p-skimmer.html

To be honest, I have zero experience with skimmers, but within the week I've already had crazy amounts of crap pulled out. From what people are saying, it needs a while to break in, and it's already great. I at least, am impressed.
__________________
TLTGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 04:13 PM   #16
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Thanks TL, I just saw Doug had recommended that one in another post as well. It looks pretty attractive, especially at that price point.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 01:47 PM   #17
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I ordered all the plumbing parts for my RO storage. Will post pics of the build of that once I get the parts in.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:36 PM   #18
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Just ordered:

175 gallon salt mix
1 300W heater with Digital control
2 Vortech MP10's
2 aqua lifters
2 float switchs for ATO

I guess I am all in now
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:49 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,966
Before you go any further you might want to decide now if you will invest in a controller. For instance you can have it as a temperature and ATO instead of using other equipment.

Not sure if you've considered it or not.
__________________
180g- Mostly BIG fish and some coral. ~80g Nuvo- My coral tank with "happy fish"~ 90g- FOWLR Not the not happy type of fish~ 125g- Freshwater Malawi Cichlids ~10g- Nuvo- The refugees from the Ich of '18
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 11:51 PM   #20
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Yes, have considered it. I have so many timers, and I have a pH controller not in use, I am going to hold off on the controller for now. It is something I may want to do down the road, but for now, I am not going to go for it. When I get one, I will want a really nice one... and with the money going to the vortechs, the tank, the RO system, and the AI Sols, I don't think I wanna spring for it right now.
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, reef, reef build, rim

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Porc Chop's Tank Hondatek Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 1670 08-11-2018 11:35 AM
Doug's 250, now 300, in wall build mr_X Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 1901 02-06-2014 01:04 PM
The Sixty Gallon Build :) George9 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2007 02-10-2013 06:13 PM
The Forty Gallon Breeder Build bruinsbro1997 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 957 04-08-2012 09:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.