Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-17-2015, 05:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Frag Tank start.

I was talking to a friend who works at my lfs. We decided to build a frag tank and but he doesn't have a lot experiance with frag tanks and I've never done one so this is what I got so far.

30x24x10 tank and stand. This tank is not drilled it is about 30gal and has a rear built in over flow and frag racks that go from the bottom of the tank up.

Tunze skimmer rated at 35 gal.

I know it might sound over kill but I want to go with 1 hydra 52. I'd like some criticism on the lighting because I know t5 have faster grown rate but I'm not trying to break the bank on the electric bill. If you have any suggestions on lighting that's not going to leave nothing but a stick of gum in my wallet let me know what works.

What return pump would you recommend for power efficiency and quality I was thinking siccie possibly but open to suggestions.

What else do I need?



Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 06:19 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
I wouldn't put any money into bulbs growing faster than LEDs. I think the hydra is a great unit and you will get great results from it.
Are you planning any fish in the tank? If so you might want a skimmer. Some use fish that will eat things like flatworms in their frag tanks for new additions.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 06:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I didn't plan on fish but I was going to do a skimmer the tunze. I think a 6 line might be a good fish for me then.

I'm going to slowly get everything together I bought the tank today rimless 36 I'm going to use the back section as my over flow with 3 chambers a media chamber a skimmer chamber and a return section.

Does that sound sufficiant?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 06:52 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
It sounds fine. If you weren't going to have any fish and you weren't going to be feeding the corals then you wouldn't have needed a skimmer, simple water changes would have done the trick.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 07:21 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Yeah I am likely going to feed the corals. My plan is to collect some high end frags eventually. Sps and lps. I'm drawing my overflow/return I'll post a photo of my idea. I want to keep a wrasse I think that was a good idea to help with pests. This is going to be a slow build I paid for the tank I'm just drawing up how I want my filtration set up. I won get the stand for awhile then I need my light skimmer ect. I'm just going to have fun and try not to break the bank, just take this build slow and easy I don't care if it takes months or years lol.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 07:57 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Im cslling it...
Kindergarten filtration drawing.

It will consist of 4, 9in chambers.

Chamber # 1. will be overflow with carbon on top of a song or two.

Chamber # 2. The flow will enter from the bottom. I will use a tunze doc 9004. The tunze skim from the top of the water line.

Chamber # 3. Extra chamber for more carbon or purigen can't spell it Ect. Essentially a spare chamber.

Chamber # 4. This will house rtn pump, heaters, ato switch and and other probes ect.






Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1426631697088.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	171.5 KB
ID:	267694  
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:16 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Dont put heaters probes etc. in the return chamber the water level will vary unless you run an ATO.
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
That will be my ato chamber.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 10:07 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I saw somewhere that a sump is required for sps? To increase total water volume?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 11:40 AM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
A sump is by not a necessity for sps. It can be helpful for not only a place to put your equipment but provide a safe place to dose to keep parameters in line if necessary...but shouldn't be for a frag tank. The more stable you keep it for sps the better off you will be.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 11:50 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I think I can dose in my over flow it should be diluted enough before it moves through the rest of the filtration. The guy on brs was saying increased water volume will help with salinity issues that happen when using 2 part. I don't understand how you would get a salinity issue. I guess your salinity would drop over time right? I don't think it will affect me much I'm kinda in the habit of weekly w/c's on my tank now.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 12:19 PM   #12
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
You shouldn't need to dose a frag tank though. The water changes would take care of that.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 12:21 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I don't know they would need to be a lot bigger than 10% a week wouldn't they?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 12:26 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
use a reef grade salt, you shouldnt have a full tank of huge sps colonies is what sniper is saying
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 12:35 PM   #15
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
Frag tanks are the most simple set up you can imagine. Use whatever salt you want, it doesn't even have to be a 'reef grade'. Use regular IO, doesn't really matter. In the amounts we are talking, there will not be enough of the elements being used up by the frags to overwhelm the water changes, which is why in larger systems some people have to end up dosing as water changes won't keep up with it.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 01:02 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Frag tanks are the most simple set up you can imagine. Use whatever salt you want, it doesn't even have to be a 'reef grade'. Use regular IO, doesn't really matter. In the amounts we are talking, there will not be enough of the elements being used up by the frags to overwhelm the water changes, which is why in larger systems some people have to end up dosing as water changes won't keep up with it.
To add to sniper, if this is a frag tank being made for the purpose of a frag tank (basically an area to hold frags until another party purchases them) they shouldnt truly be in the tank for all that long.
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 01:52 PM   #17
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyfelts View Post
To add to sniper, if this is a frag tank being made for the purpose of a frag tank (basically an area to hold frags until another party purchases them) they shouldnt truly be in the tank for all that long.
Which is why most 'frag tanks' are really grow out tanks as most of us aren't doing such things.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:31 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I was planning to try and allow the corals to grow and multiply not just be in and out. I'd like to do some sps and lps. I was planing on getting some rare stuff and allowing it to multiply then frag it and sell or trade it. In that case do I just need to make a reef tank basically instead of a frag tank?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 11:42 AM   #19
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
No, you are fine...just turns into picking peanuts out of poop by what exactly you call it. It is a pretty solid plan I think.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 12:18 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Haha lol thanks.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
frag, star, start, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Birdsnest frag and chalice frag! Flow863 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 01-25-2013 02:26 PM
Alright so I want to start a saltwater tank. I want to start out pretty cheap GodFan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 05-18-2012 04:35 PM
I need to FRAG - NO FRAG TANK goisles1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 10-01-2009 02:54 PM
Wanting to Start a Planted Tank ... Dont Know Where to Start Viperboy Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 03-25-2006 07:48 PM
To Frag or Not to Frag...? GinaD Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 01-23-2006 09:19 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.