Freshwater to Marine on a Budget

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Beginneraquariumowner

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone,
As my name implies I am relatively new to aquarium ownership. I have had a 36 gallon freshwater tank for about a year and a half and have done reasonably well with it. I however am also a new diver and have found myself interested in converting my tank into a "fish only" marine aquarium. I do not want to purchase another tank. I am just curious as to what components and or steps I'd need to make this conversion a reality. I also should say that my budget is somewhere around $250 as I am a college student. Any advice would be most helpful!

Thanks

I changed my 30g FW I to SW last year for about $250-300. It can be done. I bought 30# LS, started with about 15# base rock and seeded it with a compile pieces of LR from my reef tank. I spray painted the back black. I bought a AC70 hob filter, 2 PHs. If you don't a have them, you'll need test kits for ammo, nitrite and nitrate. A hydrometer will do to start. You'll need a small bag of salt and some RO or RODI or distilled water. You could go a little cheaper by buying pool filter sand instead of LS.

While this can be done, you need to be aware that saltwater is not a cheap hobby at all. The one thing I see missing from Beengirls list is you really need some type of protein skimmer, unless you're going to go with a turf scrubber of some sort or do a lot of water changes, which will quickly add up to more than the cost of the skimmer, because of the cost of salt for mixing. You cannot use tap water, which means you have to figure in a filter system or purchasing the water for water changes weekly or monthly.

SW is by no means cheap at all, that's true!! Haha