Got my first few corals.. few questions!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottayy

Aquarium Advice Addict
I just picked up my first corals today.

I got a pink anemone, green star polyp, and waving hands xenia (i think that's what it's called).

I have to admit I didn't do my research because I'm new to the coral world and I just picked what was pretty.

But so far they seem good.

Anyways, my first question is about the dangers of reef keeping. I can't seem to find any good articles on it, either. Are any of the above corals toxic or poisonous either by direct touching or through the water column?

I'm very concerned about my health and this hobby.

I wore latex gloves, but the water got inside of them. Which brings me to my second question..

I thoroughly rinsed the latex gloves... but I forgot about the inside of them. :| When water got in my gloves and came out, it came out with the latex powder on it. Should I be concerned?

Lastly, the green star polyp isn't really attached to anything. Just sitting on it's frag rock on top of my rock. Is that ok? (i have the powerheads off to let the anemone attach itself)

I just picked up my first corals today.

I got a pink anemone, green star polyp, and waving hands xenia (i think that's what it's called).

I have to admit I didn't do my research because I'm new to the coral world and I just picked what was pretty.

But so far they seem good.

Anyways, my first question is about the dangers of reef keeping. I can't seem to find any good articles on it, either. Are any of the above corals toxic or poisonous either by direct touching or through the water column?

I'm very concerned about my health and this hobby.

I wore latex gloves, but the water got inside of them. Which brings me to my second question..