Help cycling new salt water tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Piercy87

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi, I am new to this and this is my first tank. I have a 20 gallon setup and its been cycling with live rock for 8 days now. Is it normal that the levels are unchanged since day one? My ammonia is 0.25 nitrite 0 nitrate 0 ph 8.2 and temp 24. I have also found a small white starfish 2 baby shrimps 3 snails and what I think
Is a slug. There is also lots of tiny white dots running around the glass on the back of the tank. Are all of these things ok or should I get rid of any of them before getting fish. Any advice of help would be appreciated.

There can be lots of cool animals in Live Rock, you found some! Since they are surviving your water conditions are good. I would add a couple of Hermit Crabs and see how they do. Next add a couple of Damsels and a Snail. After a few weeks your cycling should be complete.

Ok thanks how long do you think I should
Leave it before adding some damsels is 0.25 ammonia to high and will the ammonia levels spike if I add them then if the tank isn't cycled properly will this then kill all the life in the tank?

DISCLAIMER: This is my opinion :cool:

It sounds very similar to how I did it. Where is the live rock from? When you got it, was it transported wet? And do you have live sand as a substrate?

If the live rock was in fact "live", you may not be seeing high ammonia levels because there is already established bacteria which is good! This will help lessen the dramatic cycling experience... Especially if you have live sand in there too.

Have you had a diatom algae bloom yet? It's brown sand like lookin stuff... It's completely harmless, but is a good indicator of a cycle nearing it's end. Also a good snack for crabs...