How do people get random stuff growing in tanks?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stan450z

Aquarium Advice Freak
New coral people cant ID, worms, new snails people have never seen..

Do some of these just spontaneously appear?
When you buy good live rock, will it just randomly grow nice looking coral, inverts, anemones, or do people buy buy stuff that they dont know once they buy it?

Also, is it ok to add new live rocks to a tank with fish already in it, new corals, what if its from somebody else's established tank. I feel like its beneficial to get something from somebody's used tank because it has had lots of time to grow, and might be cheaper. My LFS has corals taht are so tiny and go for hundreds of dollars. I knew tropical fish were kind of expensive but the corals are insane.

I have just so many questions and issues since i am a newbie, I wish I could chat on messanger with an experienced tank owner if any of you would like to take the time to share some of your experience and wisdom, please send me a message.

I would rather do stuff right rather than wasting money making mistakes and trial and error.

I'd like to check out some books, but info can be conflicting, and without pictures I get lost. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Stan

There's nothing spontaneous about the stuff in our tanks. It either came in on purpose... or not so much. Assuming you get live rock that has been kept wet and still has some of its natural inhabitants, you'll get hitchkers. Some good, some bad. But when I say hitchikers, I mean things like worms, small snails, small clams (not the pretty ones!), copepods, amphipods... basically the building blocks for a good little reef ecosystem.