How hard is it to.....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ICEnVy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
MOVE YOUR FISH TANK TO A NEW HOME?! lol I am extremely stressed out about this chore. We are getting a new place and I haven't the first clue on how I would go about getting my tank there without everything dying. Do I keep the water in jugs I take out so I don't start the cycle again? or uhhh put all the fishies and LR in bags with water? I also can't set up another tank in advance or anything like that in the new place cuz we are moving out of here on the day we can first move in there. So please help, thanks :)

hi. others might be able to help better as im only new to the whole marine fish scene myself. However the tank i got was 2nd hand with water and fish and rock in it so i can fill you in with what i did i didnt lose any fish :)

How big is the tank? How far are you moving it? Just asking how far as if its a fair trip you will need some kind of air stone or something in with the fish.
Equipment i used.
I bought a few 60 litre garbage bins.
Tape (to seal lids tight so not water splash's out.
Syphon
Stress guard. ( drops to put in with fish to keep there stress levels down)

1st of all you want to take as much water as possible with you.
I took all of it except a tiny bit in the bottom.
depending on what you are doing with your live rock u can either wrap it in wet newspaper and ship that way but i put mine in water. better if u can do this depending again on how far.

Syphon some water into a bin Take out live rock and put into bin.
use a couple if you have to
Syphon more water out into another bin.
Put stress drops in the bin for the fish as indicated on the bottle.
Catch fish and put them in that bin (put air stone in if you have to)
syphon the rest of the water out into remaining bins.

Main thing is have heaps of help. took me ages.