Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-09-2020, 03:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 12
How much water should I expect to drain from my DT during a power outage?

So I bought a sump kit for a 29 gal on eBay and will have it under a 40 breeder that Iíll drill and use the Eclipse S overflow box. The top of the teeth on the baffle to the return pump is 5 inches from the surface and the 29 has more gallons / inch than the 40 breeder.
Iím currently stuck in my house for a while so I figured Iíd glue the baffles now before I have the tank.

Is this height safe or should I cut the baffle so itís lower?
__________________

__________________
Dan_00ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 09:14 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,065
That varies pretty heavily. The goal is to have enough room for if there is a power failure to house all of the water can be housed in the sump once the display drains down past the baffles. So the answer is 'maybe'.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2020, 12:50 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,990
What type of output do you have on your return line ? If you using loc line just keep it towards the top of the display so they syphon breaks fast.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
age, ate, power outage, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic shut off to sump during power outage? nikki_kaiser General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 08-16-2012 09:16 AM
emergency question! Powering tank during power outage brunkdent Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 13 04-16-2012 08:44 AM
will a small airpump keep my fish alive during power outage? bawla47 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-19-2005 09:11 AM
How much should I expect to pay... rubysoho Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 11-07-2004 11:15 PM
POWER BACK UP DURING POWER OUTAGE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 08-13-2004 04:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.