Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-30-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
if I top up 20% of my tank capacity each week, do I need to change water?

I recently got a mature nano 10 gallon tank from an enthusiast. I noticed that in my apartment the water (open top, good flow) top up is coming to about 6-7 liters a week or about 1.6-1.8 gallons. That's more than the 10% water change per week that's recommended. If I'm topping that much, how often should I change water?
__________________

__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 06:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
Yes, you should still do water changes because the fish waste is not evaporating.
__________________

__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 06:32 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
I have a 60 gallon and change 10g every week.
__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 06:49 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Top-off are not water changes...... And you are topping off with fresh (unsalted) RODI water, correct??
Top-offs only replace the evaporated water to maintain proper salinity. Water changes remove waste from the system and replenish valuable nutrients to the water column that are consumed by corals.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 09:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
Yup. ok. that makes sense. I'll keep doing water change. I read on a magazine site some people do 100% water change in their nano tanks. I have no fish (yet) in it. mostly crabs and snails and some tiny corals.
__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:51 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
With just snails & crabs, you have some bioload, but very little.... a 10% weekly water change should be plenty.
Do your research carefully before adding fish..... there is a very limited assortment of what can comfortably fit in a tank that small. Probably going to be a small goby, and that's about it....
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 09:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
Thanks. I'm not ready to add fish just yet. I think I'll be adding more corals though. The anemone and crabs are keeping me busy Emerald crab loved the boiled spinach I put in the tank.
__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:50 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Keep a very close eye on your corals. No flat crab is truly reef safe, it's just that the emerald is the least evil of them. If it does get a penchant for coral, you'll need to remove it. There are a bunch of stories on here of people having emeralds for many months with no problems, then all of a sudden it takes to eating a whole bunch of zoas or other soft, fleshy corals.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:20 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
Darn really? were they feeding the crab? give it vegies fruits seaweed or just letting it scavange for left over fish food?
__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:22 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
Do I need to have a fish in a nano when there's anemone, corals and crabs?

Someone asked if I had any bioload in my nano and I said anemone. They thought I still need fish in there. This is a mature 10 gallon nano. I did have fish before, now just the anemone. Thoughts?
__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:59 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayinaung View Post
Darn really? were they feeding the crab? give it vegies fruits seaweed or just letting it scavange for left over fish food?
Most likely leaving them to scavenge as a member of the CUC and they got hungry.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayinaung View Post
Someone asked if I had any bioload in my nano and I said anemone. They thought I still need fish in there. This is a mature 10 gallon nano. I did have fish before, now just the anemone. Thoughts?
If you've got inverts in there, they poop too.... it may not be very much, but it's enough to maintain some beneficial bacteria. The only thing to note is that the amount of BB adjust to the bioload that you have, so if you suddenly add a larger load like a fish, you may see a mini spike in ammo & nitrites until the BB catch back up.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
So your answer sounds like, I should add a small fish...
__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:28 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
You tank will do OK without one, but I'd personally have a small goby in there just 'cause they're cute to watch...... your choice.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:37 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
Ok thanks. I'll begin researching on gobies... I'll add a clown when the anemone is bigger.
__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:33 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayinaung View Post
I'll add a clown when the anemone is bigger.
Sorry, but that tank is way too small for a clown.... Even for the smallest clowns, you need a minimum of 20g, preferably 25 to 30. With a pico that size, one fish is about all you want.....
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:57 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Michaelbknudsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phranque View Post

Sorry, but that tank is way too small for a clown.... Even for the smallest clowns, you need a minimum of 20g, preferably 25 to 30. With a pico that size, one fish is about all you want.....
You can keep a clown for a long while (year or two) if you'll upgrade or transfer it to another tank. Just keep an eye on parameters and get a tank bred juvenile Ocellaris Clown, which is one of the smaller varieties. Research more, and you'll see it's fine.
__________________
Michaelbknudsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:13 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Phranque's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Miamisburg, OH
Posts: 1,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelbknudsen View Post
You can keep a clown for a long while (year or two) if you'll upgrade or transfer it to another tank. Just keep an eye on parameters and get a tank bred juvenile Ocellaris Clown, which is one of the smaller varieties. Research more, and you'll see it's fine.

In all attempts to maintain civil conversation, I'll word it as being ardently adverse to this particular practice. You're purposely placing a fish into an enclosure that you know it will out-grow, causing discomfort & stress until it's moved, and then causing even further distress by having to acclimate it to a new home, when it could have been placed there in the first place to live a long, healthy, happy, stress-free life.
__________________
Wanna calculate the cost of that new reef tank?? Take your worst nightmare, double it, and you're halfway there.
Phranque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 09:27 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 102
Alright, let's not argue about a hypothetical fish being added to a nano. I'm not planning on adding any angels for instance. Both you have good points. Anything I do will be to scale. If we want to be truly ethical and ecologically sensitive we shouldn't be having this hobby at all because it IS destroying corals around the world not to mention the carbon footprint on this? we might as well NOT do it and support keeping local fishes only. This IS a guilty pleasure, however you want to justify it.

Now yeah I'm soon building a double 55/65 gallon tanks with mangrove shallow water type "sump" if you will that I will cycle for at least six months before attempting to put any livestock in. I love mature tanks. They are just so much more stable. This is my project for the summer.

I have kept fresh water tanks for 20 years and know the value of cycling and eco system of enclosed water tanks. I just don't have a monitor with probes sitting in the tank measuring every measurable every second. I have an instinct about tanks, and fishes. So whatever fish I add, will be fine. Peace!
__________________

__________________
Bayinaung is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cap, capacity, change, tan, tank, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.