In Wall Reef Build!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FrankAbagnale

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to saltwater tanks, but not new to fish keeping. I currently have two freshwater planted tanks and have used this forum on the freshwater side for over a year.

After moving into a new home, I am planning on adding a 40 Breeder reef aquarium in one of the walls in my basement. I took out a built in bookcase and am using that spot for the aquarium. Below is a list of equipment that I have with pictures following.

I would definitely appreciate any advice or comments. Right now I need to figure out drilling the tank and installing an overflow (I'm not sure what to do for the overflow), and setting up my sump.

Aquarium: 40 Breeder
Sump: 20 Long
Lighting: AquaticLife T5HO 6 Lamp w/ 4 Lunar's
Skimmer: Reef Octopus 4 Needle Wheel (100 Gal)
Return Pump: Danner Mag Drive 7 (700 GPH) - Figured I can slow it down.
Powerheads: 2 Hydor Evo 750's with Hydor Smartwave Controller

This is my 10 Gallon Planted
1.jpg

My 40 Breeder Planted
2.jpg

The Basement Room where new tank will go.
3.jpg

The bookcase that will become a tank.
4.jpg

So this weekend consisted of the construction phase. I took out the bookcase back panel and the shelves.

I built a structure into the bookcase and behind it to hold the stand.

And then I filled in around it and painted. I still need another coat of paint and a few finishing touches, but it's pretty much there.

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Kinda a waiting game now... I have a glass shop cutting some glass for my sump baffles. I took the 20 long back and grabbed a 29G in its place.