Is my tank cycled or not started? NEED HELP!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

littlea8

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I am a beginner when it comes to saltwater tanks. I am trying to establish a fish only with live rock tank. I added my uncured live rock about two weeks ago with live sand and started testing ammonia about 3-4 days after and had gotten no readings. The salinity is at 1.024 and the temperature is at 75 degrees. After about a week I tested both ammonia and nitrite and still got no readings. Finally after being fed up thinking the cycle didn't start I tested ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and PH today (approx 2 weeks after adding the live rock and sand) and I got 0 levels of ammonia, 0 levels of nitrite, and I'm pretty sure i got small levels of about 5-10ppm of nitrate reading with a PH of 7.2. I tested again today and got a 20ppm reading of nitrate and still 0 ammonia and 0 nitrite. I am very confused at this point as to what i should be doing or where my tank is at in terms of the cycle. Could someone please help me as to what further steps I should be taking and where my tank is at after 2 weeks of adding the uncured live rock?

Couple of things.

Raise your temp up a bit. 75 is low I would head towards 78-80. Your pH is low as well. You may need a little more surface ripple to help with the O2 exchange. You ph will go up as the tank is more established.

To test your tanks cycling drop an uncooked raw shrimp in the tank and let it rot. After a day or two do all your tests again and see if you get an ammonia spike and nitrite spike. You need an ammonia source of some kind but with 0 readings of ammonia and nitrite and nitrate present you could be cycled.