Is there anyone out there who uses Wet/Dry instead of LR?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

PrettyFishies

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am looking for someone with experience using a wet/dry filter instead of a LR setup. I'm new to the hobby, concerned with costs as well as the potential for sickness outbreaks and the possibility of having to medicate the main tank if there is mass infection. I've also been told that LR cause bad algae growth. But what I want is to hear from someone's experience how they are faring with this method.

After listening to the advice of the more knowledgeable folk here I converted my wet dry to a sump. All the bio balls are in a bucket, all the aragonite is in a bucket. Southdown (5"-6"), 50 pounds of base rock and 95 pounds of LR is now in and cycling. This is for a 125 gallon tank.
RO/DI will be here tomorrow.
I've now spent just over double my original budget and still have no livestock.
But, I'd rather do it right the first time and not watch the pretty fishies die. 8)

I went through the learning curve with FW 10 years ago and watched too many fish die. I'd rather take the time to do it right the first time now.

Having said all that, I can't wait to start adding some livestock to this tank :D

The LFS states the main negative as algae. Have you experienced algae problems? How difficult is it to clean the DSB?

all the aragonite is in a bucket

Are you talking about aragonite? or Crushed Coral...two different things...Aragonite sand is good and is pretty much the same as Southdown if I am not mistaken...

Pretty Fishes,

If you are planning on doing a Fish Only aquarium, you do not have to use LR and LS to have a beautiful fish tank...

As far as algae goes, you can have just as bad either way and there is no proof of that...