just bought an aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bosslady

Aquarium Advice Regular
I just bought an aquarium. I'm so excited. I am new to this. I have been reading all the past post here on this site. The aquarium I bought is used. The person I bought it from had it set up as a reef tank. This is what I wanted also. He sold it to me as a package the tank, powerhead, skimmer, stand, light hood and a bunch of extras. The tank is 75 gal. I think I got a good deal $350. He had a lot of live rock. The tank has been down for a few weeks so the rock dried out. Can I use this rock in my reef? I thought I could use it as base rock and place new live rock around and over it. If I do how should I prepare it? Placing it in the tank for the first cycle is what I thought I would do. I also plannned on putting new live rock and live sand.

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com.. :D

The dried rock will be fine, just rinse it in salt water prior to placing in the tank to remove any aditional debris. Placing this rock on the bottom and placing any newly purchased LR on top is the best idea. LS is not really necessary as the LR added later will eventually seed any dry sand you use as well as the old rock. Unless the sand is purchased with actual animals (fauna) in it, the straight forward "wet" bagged sand is a waste of money IMO.

Cheers
Steve

schild27.gif
to AquariumAdvice.com!!

He sold it to me as a package the tank, powerhead, skimmer, stand, light hood and a bunch of extras.

Could you give us some details on the powerhead (in a 75g you will need more than one), what brand name and model number. Also some details on the lights would help us advise you, what type (eg; MH, PC, VHO, HOor NO) and wattage. What extras did you get?

what I got

I went thru everyting and here is the list.
ocean sea salt (enough to start tank)
2 nets
sponge on a stick