Keeping Clean Sand

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gauge

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Again, I am a newbie, so don't assume I know anything, because I likely don't...

I have been told that when I do water changes, I should "vacuum" the sand by using a syphon(sp) hose. I've been doing that for a few months, and while I don't really mind the effort, what I do mind is having to move all the stupid rocks around every time. That's the real pain for me.

Is there any way that I can add enough sand sifters to prevent having to do this every week? I only have one tiger tail sea cucumber so far (he's a monster, though), but I was planning on getting a sand sifting sea star to help out. How much would it take to keep a 42 gallon hex tank clean?

I'm not sure about the grain size. It's pretty fine. The bed has to be 4-6 inches deep. I have approximately 50 pounds of sand in a 42 gal hex tank.

With a DSB (which with 4-6", that's what you got) you should not be vacuuming at all. You are removing the necessary infauna that make the DSB function. I recommend you get several cups of sand from a fellow reefer and innoculate the sand you have. You want sand that is full of pods and worms to slowly turn the sand. You should also consider cerrith snails, horse conchs and nassarius snails for keeping the top of the sandbed clean. If good live sand is not available, you can detriore kits on line. I think the place I see recommended the most is www.inlandaquatics.com but beware these are pricey, best if you can get the sand from a fellow reefer ;)