KH ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kathyjo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new at this and my tank has only been up for 4 weeks. I thought it had completed it's cycle, but now I'm not sure. the KH test confuses me since the liquid does not change color I'm assuming that means the Hardness is greater than 16. The pH is also very high around 8.8 and I have not added anything to make it that way. The only additive I've used is 1 tsp of essential elements (Kent Marine brand).

I have a 55 gal tank with live sand and 57# of live rock, 4 damsels , a protien skimmer, 10 gal refugium/sump, and have been buying RO water from the pet store. The lights had a preset timer and inclue 700+, 420/460, and LED bulbs. I would like to add soft coral, anamone, and a maroon clown. The water test show: specific gravity 1.023, KH>16, Ca 400, Mg 1260, Si 0, I2 0, Cu 0.1, Nitrite 5, Nitrate 7, Amonia 0.5, pH 8.8, and the water temperature is 77.9'.

The Amonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate were 0 for 3 days and now they are high again - I'm guessing I can correct this with a partial water change or two. The pH and Hardness concern me; I don't know what to do to lower those. Does anyone have a suggestion? What do I do next?

Your tank isn't fully cycled. Probably die off from the LR. Did you get the LR locally and was it cured? If you got it mail order even if it was 'cured' it needed to be re-cured since stuff died on the journey to your house.

Water changes, dose with Prime or equivalent to make it more hospitable for those in there now. No more fish, no anemone until your tank has been stable for 6+ months.

IMO

Thanks

I bought the LV from a local store. It turned brown for a week or so now the brown is gone and there is some green algea on it. Wow 6 months to wait! ok I'll be patient.