Lighting/test kits

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Frogspawn

Aquarium Advice Freak
i have a test kit that i think is junk. i do weeky PWC's so i know i keep my ammo, nitrite and nitrate at Zero ppms and keep my PH as close to 8.2 as i can. i do 5g every sunday on a 30g reef tank. i dont always test my water because of that. i know thats a bad habit and its going to kick me in the butt. but i am color blind with some colors and it just so happens to be yellow/green and orange/red. every thing else i am fine on. its a pain in the butt when i try to test my water. my question is what kinda lighting is best to view your test tubes. i have a master kit i bought from my lfs and i dont think its a very good one. if its true all my corals and fish would be dead. not to mention i have pods and mutiplying like rabbits and my mushrooms are looking brighter every day that goes by. my toadstool leather has grown 1/2 the size since i have had it and my torch coral its showing new growth. my pulsing xzina has tripled in size and ready to be moved to a larger rock instead of its little plug its on now.
how could all this stuff be doing so great and looking better every day if my ammo the most lethal is even slighty high.
how could i curve this. i dont trust my LFS and hate going to them they just like to try to rip me off and charge 2-3 times the amount what i could buy something on-line for. i have looked for digital measuring stuff and i have a PH one but i cant seem to find anything for ammo, nitrite and nitrate. thanks for your time