Looking into a marine aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moose9

Aquarium Advice Activist
ive been keeping freshwater tanks for a few years and have kept almost all kinds of fish, and have 3 tanks up and running successfully now, and am wanting to get into salt water
the time and experience dont scare me off the the cost does, what is the cost to setting up one of these amazing units and what exactly do i need, i am just picking the "experts" brain right now
1. what exaclty do i need to set up a successful SW aquaria(30gal)
2. what is the cost for these items
3. -reef tank
-fish only
what are the pros and cons, price dif, and maintenence dif and what do you recommend

and links and pics are helpful, ive never kept Sw before so im new to terms and lingo, but im very framilair with FW terms and am not new to keeping fish, just SW... so just post some thoughts and info
any help appreciated

Keeping a SW tank is definetely more expensive than FW. There are several added costs that many people don't expect when deciding to get involved in the hobby.

The biggest shock is usually the cost per pound of live rock, in association with the amount needed for any given size tank.

Which brings me to tank size... tank size for SW is an important desicion. For many reasons really. It is important to inform new SW aquarists that although smaller tanks such as 30G or less, are do-able, having a larger tank will be easier to maintain water quality which ultimately determines the longterm success of the tank.

Now, I'm not saying that a 30G or less tank, can't or won't have longterm success, I am just mentioning that smaller systems require a more watchful eye, and dedicated husbandry practices.