Low budget setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tdmartin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi!

I hope you folks can point me in the right direction.

In the early 70's I was an avid saltwater hobbyist. I haven't done anything with SW since then.

Now I would like to get back into it, but in a very small way. I need to re-learn many things, mostly in the area of equipment. While they had most of the things they have now, back then, they were not very popular, and I have no experience with them.

I have a 35 gal tank that I want to set up as Fish Only. The key here is LOW BUDGET. I have never had much luck with saltwater in less than a 50 Gal tank and used to prefer 100 Gal plus, so this is a big departure from what I am used to. But I am hoping that newer technology will help me out.

Back in the day, the preferred setup would use a under gravel filter using reverse flow with a deep bed, and an external power filter for additional water movement and mechanical filtration.

I never did like UG filters much.

Now I am thinking a hang on power filter with a bio wheel maybe for mechanical and bio filtration, and a hang on or in tank air driven protein skimmer.

I am assuming the chemical test equipment has not changed since then, I know the fish certainly haven't :wink:

I am comfortable with cycling the tank and all. I want to stay away from a reef system due primarily to cost, and issues with potential disease control.

Because of the small tank size and potential water stability issues I intend to under populate the tank and stock with fish that are clean eaters.

Where I can really use help, is advice with the filtration equipment, specific brands, and please remember that cost is a major factor. Also, I am a unsure about what type of substrait to use and how much. Oyster Shell or dolomite, used to be the thing to use, Now, I am not so sure.