Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-15-2014, 03:34 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
You prob want that higher up, it will give you better flow and not blow around the sand. It usually takes a couple days of playing around with it so you don't get any dead spots
about where would you put it? do the rocks look alright?
__________________

__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:10 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Mattyfelts's Nano

How many lbs do u have?
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389816572.485473.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	166.4 KB
ID:	216842
That's the ten I'm currently building you can see how the power heads are higher. Also are you running carbon and bio pellets right now?
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:21 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
How many lbs do u have?
Attachment 216842
That's the ten I'm currently building you can see how the power heads are higher. Also are you running carbon and bio pellets right now?
what light is that? and okay i will move my powerhead higher then. And im not quite sure how many id say about 8/9 lbs i might buy some more live again soon or maybe some more dry, not sure yet. Also yes i am running 2 bags of biological ceramic pellets and carbon, why?
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:28 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Mattyfelts's Nano

Bio pellets are more of a fw thing they end up trapping a lot of nitrate in sw I wouldn't run them and carbon IME makes the cycle drag out. this is the one time you want ammonia and nitrite in your system. Start running your media after the cycle. And the light is a reefkoi full spectrum par38 it's not that blue in person that's a cell picture
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:34 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Bio pellets are more of a fw thing they end up trapping a lot of nitrate in sw I wouldn't run them and carbon IME makes the cycle drag out. this is the one time you want ammonia and nitrite in your system. Start running your media after the cycle. And the light is a reefkoi full spectrum par38 it's not that blue in person that's a cell picture
Okay so should i take the bags out and just run it as kind of a water agitation system (empty filter) and is that enough rock for now? Should i pick more up soon? Your tank looks great by the way what live stock?
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:50 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
okay so now my glass is exposed on the right side, i moved the powerhead and its still doing this. It is the marineland 400, [currently running circulation pump mode] should i actually switch it to be a power head?

The circulation pump moves 500 GPH and the power head 110 GPH. Please help D:!
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:50 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Ya run it empty until your cycle is done then put in some purigen or chemi-pure. 8 or 9 is a little on the low side you should aim for 1 to 1.5 lbs per gallon I have 13 in mine. You also want the rock work to be open so the water can flow through. And thanks, not much live stock yet it's only a lil over 2 months old 3 trochus snails 2 bumble bee snails ( hitch hikers ) 4 zebra hermits and a blue shroom frag rock that I'm going to separate and place where I want them this weekend
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:52 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Try pointing towards the surface a little bit. 500 is a little high and 110 is a little low
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 04:58 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Try pointing towards the surface a little bit. 500 is a little high and 110 is a little low
i tryed to point toward the surface and it did literally nothing, maybe i should try 110 and maybe invest in another in the future? but for now i think the 110 and the agitation from the filter should be sufficient? correct?
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:02 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Mattyfelts's Nano

I'm running 2 korilia nano 240's. Great little power head and only $25. Are you planning on doing a reef or just a fowlr?if you can get the flow so there's no dead spots 110 should be fine for cycle
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:03 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
also i am doing fowlr if that matters?
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:04 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Ya then 110 should be fine as long as you have no dead spots
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:05 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
I'm running 2 korilia nano 240's. Great little power head and only $25. Are you planning on doing a reef or just a fowlr?if you can get the flow so there's no dead spots 110 should be fine for cycle
sorry im new, yes only a fowlr, the filter is rated at around 100 gph also so would that be sufficient, what is a dead spot sorry for the newbie questions
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:08 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Mattyfelts's Nano

Set up your power head and let it run for a while if you notice stuff settling in one spot that's a flow dead spot and this is where waste will settle and bacteria/algae will grow. And that should be fine for a fowlr
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:20 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
Set up your power head and let it run for a while if you notice stuff settling in one spot that's a flow dead spot and this is where waste will settle and bacteria/algae will grow. And that should be fine for a fowlr
so it seems to work better now, just its so bulky it looks weird...there is also anotehr mode which is substantially smaller and is called utility pump which seems much smaller, also what does the airline have to do with the pump and why do i have it. thanks
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:20 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
I was curious when to add a CUC, how long will a seeded cycle take? any other recomendations ?
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:22 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
I use the korilias and they don't have airlines. Did you get a power head or a pump.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1389828098.448570.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	208.7 KB
ID:	216865
Does yours look like that?
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:23 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Have you ever cycled a tank before?
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:30 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mattyfelts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,111
Mine is a three in one. I'll post a pic of the new way tonight.

I have cycled fw tanks, never saltwater so was just curious how much the live rock helps the cycle
__________________
60G Freshwater || 10G Reef
Instagram: MATTYFELTS
Mattyfelts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 07:39 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Add your ammonia source. Then wait for your ammonia to spike then nitrite to spike then when these 2 both fall off to 0 ppm and all you have is nitrate do a large wc (50-60%). You can add some cuc here but don't go crazy because you don't want them to starve. I would wait until your nitrates below 10 ppm before adding a fish
__________________

__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nano, tss

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.