My feeding style technique - good, bad or plain gross?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dr. Dai Phan

Aquarium Advice Freak
My feeding technique - good, bad or plain gross?

Hello saltwater aquarists,

Everyday I feed my fish twice daily. After giving the fish with flakes, I give them seafood including cooked beef, pork, chicken and my fish love them! First I chew a piece of raw sushi or cooked meat then I spit into the tank. My good "choppers" (I am a dentist BTW) break the food down to small portions so they got dispersed all over the tank for the corals, the shrimps, the snails, the crabs to all have chance to get the food. I must say that I don't hogg it all up but split out only the chewed portion. I know it grossed one of my guests out but I think it is a very effective food delivery system. Any thoughts? DP

First... I'm not quite sure how you can call beef, chicken, and pork "seafood". Guess my definition of seafood kinda involves it coming from the sea. I'm no fish nutritionist, but I'd guess that the best food for them would be the foods they naturally eat. And I've never seen a tropical fish take down a cow and gulp it down.

Regarding prechewing the food and spitting it out... kinda gross, but not much different than what the fish do at times. Only thing I'd be concerned about is introducing whatever bacteria, fungii, viruses, etc that you may be harboring in your mouth. While there's plenty of bacteria already in the tank and on the corals, the ones from your mouth would be pretty foreign in that environment. Personally, I try to keep my tank as clean as possible from outside contamination.