Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-21-2017, 05:48 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
My Red Sea Reefer 250 Build

Well I have been out of the hobby for a little over a year and decided it was time to jump back in.

Yesterday I gave my reef saver dry rock an acid bath and blew them dry with an industrial back pack blower and let them sit out on the porch all night and day today.

I've purchased a Red Sea Reefer 250 which was delivered today.

Here are the rest of the goodies I have for the tank;

2 - Radion xr15 Gen 4 Pro
1 - Vortech Mp40
1 - Apex controller (wow they are expensive)
1 - wxm module for Apex
1 - Apex probe holder
1 - Reef Octopus classic 110 skimmer
1 - Ehiem 3000 return pump
1 - 300w titanium heater
1 - Tunze ATO
Real Sea Blue Salt

I'm planning on ditching the included ATO and have a custom acrylic ATO tank built to fit inside stand. I'm going to try to use the included ATO tank as a refugium for harvesting pods.

My goal for this tank is to house a mandarin self-sufficiently along with a awesome sps garden.

Thoughts and suggestions so far?
__________________

__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 11:51 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
Things look solid, but why the need for the apex with all of the ecotech equipment?
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 06:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
My Red Sea Reefer 250 Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Things look solid, but why the need for the apex with all of the ecotech equipment?


Honestly, I bought the Apex before I was set on which lighting I was going to use. I like the idea of the apex because of the probes and the controllability of all of my equipment. If I went with the reeflink, that would only let me control just my lights and my mp40.

I like the thought of being able to set all of my pumps and powerhead to feed mode and such.

Would you suggest a different route of action? The Apex is still wrapped in plastic and could easy make the trip back to BRS. LOL
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 06:58 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
Also I believe I am going to purchase a second mp40 for this setup.
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 08:54 AM   #5
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
I like my reeflink, but was just looking for your reasoning. If you weren't going to be someone who was going to be using the probes to monitor the system, then it is an unnecessary money sink. The reeflink can be too, don't get me wrong, and I'm sure both are nice to have.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 03:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
BLUEaquarium06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Albany, New York
Posts: 692
I will totally be following along, and if you don't mind me asking how much did this set up cost you? I'm going to be buying my own home shortly and this is almost the exact setup I want to upgrade to from my 29
__________________
BLUEaquarium06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 08:07 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLUEaquarium06 View Post
I will totally be following along, and if you don't mind me asking how much did this set up cost you? I'm going to be buying my own home shortly and this is almost the exact setup I want to upgrade to from my 29


Well the tank alone was $1299. I looked around for a deal but this was the price at many vendors. Currently I'm about $5000 into it. I have everything for the basic setup now, but I will be doing some upgrading before I even get operational.
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 08:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
So here is a question. I acid washed some old live rock from a previous tank. The rock has been sitting outside under a shade tree for over a year. After I pulled it out of the acid bath, some of my rock is a solid orange, some is grey, and some is a murky yellow.... is this normal??
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 08:10 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
And I have been rinsing it in a 55 gallon trash can with garden hose water. Changing it every two days for a week now
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 01:09 PM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
Sounds normal to me. I have rock of all types of colors that came out of the Caribbean. One of my favorites, though not in my current tank, is all orange.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 01:17 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
My Red Sea Reefer 250 Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Sounds normal to me. I have rock of all types of colors that came out of the Caribbean. One of my favorites, though not in my current tank, is all orange.


I'm so glad to know that! I have two that are completely orange and some that are multi colored. I'm guessing I used too much acid... the rocks are very brittle now.

I was a little concerned because I got 100lbs of reef saver rock from BRS and acid washed it and it all came out white for the most part.
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 05:28 PM   #12
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
Oh it's reef saver? Well then you def used too much acid. Just make sure you rinse it like nobodies business. Don't want the bath doing anything to the water column or affecting pH.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 05:41 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Oh it's reef saver? Well then you def used too much acid. Just make sure you rinse it like nobodies business. Don't want the bath doing anything to the water column or affecting pH.


My apologies. I bought 100lbs of reef saver rock and some acid and gave it a bath. Then two days of rinse cycles. Then blow dryer it with a backpack blower and left in the sun for a week now. It looks good.

I had a pile of old dead live rock that was sitting outside for a year. I bought all of this rock from a guy on Craigslist years ago and I have no clue what type of rock it is.

I had extra acid left so I decided to acid bath it. When it came out it was various colors and had me concerned. Lol.
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 05:44 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jjh302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 347
So today I bought and stained a 3/4" oak plywood board to put under the stand. Will this help even the slightest bit with weight distribution? My house is old and I'm trying to take a couple extra steps to help with the weight. Granted this is only a 54 gallon unit, but it's going on the wall parallel to the floor joists.
__________________
jjh302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 07:23 PM   #15
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,253
As long as it is running parallel to the joists you should be fine. I would make sure there is a solid support in the middle of the stand.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, red, reef, sea

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H.O.T Magnum 250 or 250 Pro? HOLLIEO General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-26-2003 11:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.