Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-05-2014, 09:33 PM   #81
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Yes I don't have a phosphate test ,calcium, or alkalinity
__________________

__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 10:41 PM   #82
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Take water sample to your lfs.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 12:49 PM   #83
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Ordered some cyano meds. Sy phoning is working to slow it down.
Nitrates have been a consistent ~5ppm so that the nutrient source. I've invested in a another few jugs so I have 15 gallons of sw or 10 sw and 5 fresh for WC or top off. Trying to get everything balanced. And safe for my fish and thier friends
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 12:56 PM   #84
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
I'll take the sample this weekend and see if they can help I'm done with this class in a week. I'll try to keep in tank maintenance to a minimum in the mean time
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:44 PM   #85
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Water sample was ok. Had to be chlorine. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394239272.308982.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	201.9 KB
ID:	226460fid my own test as well. Nothing out of control. The nitrate media I replaced is definately helping. Cyano has receded a lot. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394239328.668937.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	184.1 KB
ID:	226461
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:45 PM   #86
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394239472.269796.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	196.0 KB
ID:	226464
Did some rearranging. As well
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 04:24 PM   #87
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394393018.061280.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	199.5 KB
ID:	226799glass near the sand is dirty sorry.
Guy at my LFS gave me 5 of these starfish or "starfish like creatures"
They look like starfish. A couple have six arms though. And they are all less than 2cm diameter
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 11:17 AM   #88
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Asterina starfish. Common hitchhiker. They reproduce by breaking off limbs and leaving them behind to form new starfish..
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:32 PM   #89
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Will they develop into a pest?
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 02:45 PM   #90
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Second clown disappeared today.
Assuming the water flow pushed its body into the rocks going to attempt to find it ..... I've got to figure this out.
Water test result to follow
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 03:25 PM   #91
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394562018.789044.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	176.1 KB
ID:	227275
This has to be an issue with me swimming everyday. And doing maintenance in the water. That would add a massive amount of chlorine I'd think. Just to be safe I added dechlorinator after removing the dead clown. I acceded tally broke a vial so I'll have to wait to test high ph.
SG is 1.026
Last water change was 5 gallons on Saturday
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 12:31 PM   #92
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394810939.489736.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	218.8 KB
ID:	227939Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394810963.417761.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	218.6 KB
ID:	227940Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394810984.123660.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	174.4 KB
ID:	227941
Cyano trying to take over front of sandbed. Added meds according to directions. About 24 hours ago. Going to do 10 gallon WC or %29 WC
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 12:33 PM   #93
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394811141.580531.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	133.0 KB
ID:	227942
Using a magnum 350 full of nitrate media ever sice the cyano first appeared it went away for a bit but started to come back even after I replaced media
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 02:02 PM   #94
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
That chemical is only a temporary bandaid. You need to fix the underlying issues or it will just come back.

You aren't testing everything you need to test for. Phosphates is one of them. You can remove all the nitrates you want but if you aren't getting rid of phosphates as well then it won't matter because the algae and cyano will still grow.

Have you cut back on feeding? And cyano grows in areas of low flow. Try adding more flow to your tank.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 11:12 AM   #95
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Yes I have a phosphate media as well.
That's my next step! Add more flow I found a koralia 420? For $25.
I think I know what cause the stress! I dunno how I didn't realize it. But when I added the new media. (Full canister of brand new ) it would have caused an ammonia spike right?!?!??
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 11:13 AM   #96
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
I need a phosphate , calcium, and kh test. What will lead to increased phosphates?
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 02:34 PM   #97
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,257
Adding media that removed things like phosphates wouldn't cause an ammonia spike. If it did, it wouldn't be used in our aquariums since ammonia is toxic. Adding too much at once can cause a major drop and stress corals, sometimes even kill more sensitive ones.
In terms of test kits, Red Sea are great. I wont look back after getting Hanna checkers.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 02:36 PM   #98
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,257
And increased phosphates comes from feeding too much and not removing enough if them during water changes. Nitrates and phosphates come from decaying food/poop in a 16:1 ratio. Using flake and pellet foods are also heavily packed with phosphates, which is a reason to use frozen foods...though the water they are frozen in is also high in phosphates so we strain them out.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 05:35 PM   #99
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Ok. The large amount of de-nitrate I changed out was the only thing I could think of! Well I changed the media I'm going to be using for a while.
__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2014, 06:59 PM   #100
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Mashpotatoes74402's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 339
Left for 5 days My sitter sent tho picture yesterday! Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1395438989.752448.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	151.2 KB
ID:	229414. So the cyano isn't gone and the pump decided to create a ton of micro bubbles. I talked him through how to fix it. I've got to get this algea problem under control. Btw officially week 12
__________________

__________________
Mashpotatoes74402 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
first sw, red, redsea, sea, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
redsea's Plan-Next Tank redsea Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 21 08-21-2013 09:48 PM
Starting My new RedSea Max 250 newsaltwater Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 01-06-2013 12:06 AM
Redsea max 130d?? joe&rae Nano Reefs 2 04-25-2012 11:24 PM
RedSea Chiller 1/4Hp repair? fairclothg Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-30-2003 10:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.