my reef tank plan...please advise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dropped

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone.

I'm starting a new reef tank which will be my first SW tank. I've been researching for a couple of months, but my initial plan has run into some bumps..

so far, i've aquired a 36" 2x250Metal Halide Canopy that goes with my 65g 36x18x24 tank. I also have a cheezy stand. I plan to start with some relatively easy corals, then progress to sps/lps/clams/anemone. I want to do this right, from the start.

I originally planned to build a sump/refuge, to go with a prism skimmer(which i now know is not good enough). But no matter how much i research, i cannot understand the concept of overflows, drilling, and the like. I like the idea of the sump because i want my skimmer and heater hidden. i also like the fact the the main tank water level does not move. The problem is that my stand will need a custom tank size to fit in a pillar.

i just need someone to tell me what i should do and what i should get. I'm frustrated about all the plan changes on my end. If I do go with a sump, i'll need to buy a new stand. What kind of filtration setup do you recommend for my tank? do i just buy an internal overflow and get my tank drilled? can i build an overflow? where do i actually have the tank drilled? what kind of skimmer can fit in a 10-20g sump? will the skimmer affect the refuge in the sump? what else do i need besides a pump? what do i do about hoses? sorry, i'm just frustrated and confused. any help appreciated. :?

do i need to build a sump? what if i pick up a cpr bakpak2 and have 1pound/gallon of LR? would that be enough? is there a skimmer that can hide a heater?? :?