Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-09-2019, 01:49 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
This are the new results my ammonia is going down when it gets lower or to 0 I'll be posting the results of the other tests
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190709_104403.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	130.3 KB
ID:	313381   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190709_104412.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	159.6 KB
ID:	313382  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190709_104421.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	117.1 KB
ID:	313383  
__________________

__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 02:11 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
My NO2 nitrite it's at 0.05 barely showing making some progress I guess
__________________

__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 06:25 PM   #23
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,248
You will need to add an ammonia source still. The die off in the tank won't be enough to cycle it.
As for the powerheads, the ones you mentioned are good for the price.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 08:30 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
If budget is no option MP10 would be great. If budget is an option is look at Jebao.
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 08:30 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
You will need to add an ammonia source still. The die off in the tank won't be enough to cycle it.
As for the powerheads, the ones you mentioned are good for the price.
I guess I gotta keep adding fish food
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 09:04 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
Where would you place the powerhead in the biocube Bellow the return or on the left side front side of the tank (kitty corner) the pump bein mid to bottom facing up in the middle of the tank or straight ahead, also what if I want sea horses
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 10:14 PM   #27
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,248
You don't want to use fish food to cycle the tank. The amount of phosphates in them is terribly high and will lead to algae issues once you are up and running.

As for if you want sea horses, they are very specialized and difficult fish to keep. They don't do well in systems with much flow in them at all. This also leads to issues with parameters as they usually run basic trickle filters to keep the flow down as well.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 01:25 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
That was just a thought I seen them for cheap the other day at the lfs and they called my attention, what about the pump placement marked some X's where I was thinking on putting them
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	857621744.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	313395  
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 02:23 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
I would put one low in the back and one on the opposite side high and angled a little towards the surface
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 02:31 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
I'm thinking of getting a maxspect xf130
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:19 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
That should work great, you may want to stick a korilia 240 behind the scape still just to ensure nothing collects back there, but the gyre might be enough, just keep an eye on it. Jaebo makes some nice adjustable pumps for an affordable price too
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:54 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
Just got this pump what you think
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190711_125331.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	250.1 KB
ID:	313400  
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 06:16 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Nice, Iíve never tried them. I got out of the hobby right about the time the maxspect version was first getting ready to come out
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 07:02 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
This cost me about 130 but with this I can use one or 2 propellers I can do pretty much everything I need with this since I can select the strength and other wise I was gonna have to get 2 and pay 40 a piece and the koralia controller thing came out cheaper this way
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 07:53 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Very popular. Lots of flow. You should like it.
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:32 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
Very popular. Lots of flow. You should like it.
Question is how do I know if I have too much flow for my coral
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 09:38 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
I'm tryin to keep acans pulsing Xenia some zoa's some brain some isolated gsp and a red or blue antlers looking coral maybe a strawberry clam or small clam
__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 04:25 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrahamavelar View Post
Question is how do I know if I have too much flow for my coral
Each coral is different. Your rock obviously affects your flow as well. I can tell you that the ice cap should be more than enough. Once you set up the ice cap play with the placement and set the flow you THINK you will like. If possible try to plan ahead on what corals you want. Figure out there flow and par needs. Try and figure out ahead of time where you want them in your tank. You'll still have to adjust flow. It can take months to get par and flow dialed in for some reefers. My current build is on month 5 and I just now feel like I got it right. Nothing happens fast in a reef tank.
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 09:52 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BigRedsReefs10's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrahamavelar View Post
I'm tryin to keep acans pulsing Xenia some zoa's some brain some isolated gsp and a red or blue antlers looking coral maybe a strawberry clam or small clam


What are you using for lighting? The stock lights wonít support sps or a clam
__________________
BigRedsReefs10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2019, 10:18 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
abrahamavelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: salt lake city utah
Posts: 2,361
Send a message via MSN to abrahamavelar Send a message via Yahoo to abrahamavelar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
Each coral is different. Your rock obviously affects your flow as well. I can tell you that the ice cap should be more than enough. Once you set up the ice cap play with the placement and set the flow you THINK you will like. If possible try to plan ahead on what corals you want. Figure out there flow and par needs. Try and figure out ahead of time where you want them in your tank. You'll still have to adjust flow. It can take months to get par and flow dialed in for some reefers. My current build is on month 5 and I just now feel like I got it right. Nothing happens fast in a reef tank.
I mainly wan to keep some acans some zoas some gsp some Xeniaís and one of those blue o red cactus looking coral and for that one I know they need high flow high light so I got a spot for it from the moment I was setting my tank


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRedsReefs10 View Post
What are you using for lighting? The stock lights wonít support sps or a clam
Iím using ledís the ones that came with the Biocube the spot I have set up for the itís between 3-4 inches from the light
__________________

__________________
abrahamavelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 75 gallon up and running and love it Kmalcolm2002 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 3 04-30-2013 10:55 AM
finally up and running and here are some pics benni Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-08-2009 09:40 PM
The refugium I made is the greatest and up and running! stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 44 08-09-2009 09:33 AM
Tank is UP AND RUNNING! Questions and pics... manoosie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 24 08-28-2005 10:11 PM
Up and running for 3 months and Dory needs a friend...Ideas? Cafe Jeff Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-11-2005 05:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.