New 100G SW Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Spchampion2000

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all i am a beginner when it comes to salt water tanks and i am currently in the process of setting up my 100g saltwater tank.....i currently have about 130 lbs of sand and i have the tank running with 2 jebo canister filters pumping about 400 GPH with no carbon in the filters.....also i have a jebo 100g protein skimmer with submersible pump running with it. I am running a wave system with 3 maxijet 900 power heads. My lighting situation is 34-36" florescent 50/50 4 pin bulbs also along with a moonlight i intend on having the florescent running about 5-10 PM and the moonlight from 10-6 the moonlight wattage is very low but gives a decent lighting.....i was looking for some suggestions as far as my setup and anything i should remove/change or add......also for my tank i intend on having somewhat a reef setup but i was wondering according to my setup what type of corals i could have medium corals im assuming but please correct me if i wrong. Also i was wondering when i should start cycling my tank before or after adding my rock....i am currently in the process of curing my rock......what would you advise....and i was wondering if someone could give me a link or some basics as far as readings go and what is normal starting and what my targets should be such as PH, Nitrates, Nitrites etc. any assistance would be great THANKS! :D

I agree, what is your total wattage, not including the LEDs?
What brand of lighting fixture do you have?
If you go with 1.5-2 Lbs of rock per gallon, you could even remove the filters because the rock and sand would provide all the bio-filtration you need.
I mix my cured LR with a LOT of base rock. I got the base rock from marcorocks.com, it's great stuff!