New 14 gal biocube

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

David Moyer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just got a new 14g biocube for Xmas. I want to start a reef aquarium with some inverts, a couple of fish and corals. I've added 15lbs of live rock and 2 inches of live sand. I have one 240 biocube power head. Everything else was included with aquarium. I am new to this hobby so I need lots of help. It's been up and running for 6 days now. All test are good. I started to notice a brown crust on the sand. Is this normal? Also, I need help on the lighting settings and how long they should stay on? Do I need another powerhead in such a small tank--I don't want to blow my fish, inverts away? Is it alright to add a few hermit crabs and snails in a couple days(clean up crew)or should I wait a month or so?

A guy who is looking forward to the challenge, but needs a lot of help.

Also, when you top off your aquarium, can u use purified water by itself?