new 55-gal stocking

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lisa888

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone, newbie here :) Seeking advice on how to stock my 55-gal tank. Right now I have 3 damsels that the LFS sold me to get started (I had live sand and the bottled bacteria so my ammonia never got too high for them, they didn't suffer). Two are dominos and one is a yellowtail. I heard the yellowtails are not as aggressive and this one doesn't seem to be that bad so I thought about keeping him and taking the dominos back since they are bullies. Here are some fish I like that I think would be good but I know I have to eliminate a few choices to not be overstocked, maybe you can tell me if any are less desirable to help me eliminate.

yellowtail damsel
Kaudern's cardinal (probably 2)
Clarki clownfish
flame hawkfish
firefish or bicolor dottyback
coral beauty angel
foxface rabbitfish
six line wrasse

I'd also like about 5 snails and 5 hermitcrabs and a featherduster someday (when to add these guys?)

Please give me your opinions on compatibility and the correct order to add them. I have a 20-gal QT I will be using for each addition for 4-6 weeks. How many do you think I should add at once? I heard only one at a time, but I also heard 2-3 if they are small fish.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

How long has your tank been running? I wouldnt add more than say two fish at a time and space it out over a week or two at least.

I'd have to say though that list is quite large. :) I'm counting 12 fish. I don't think I will have 12 fiash in total in my 125g when ii'm done stocking. LOL

Do you plan on corals ever? I believe the coral beauty is a nipper. Also the wrasse is a jumper too.