New 72 Bow Front Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottyd1119

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all
I'm new to saltwater tanks and recently purchased a 72 gallon bow front tank with an overflow built in. I have a pro flex 100 for a sump with Fiji Mud in it. I've been cycling the tank now for about 2.5 weeks with 90 lbs of live rock and 80 lbs of live sand. I first tested the tank 3 days after setting it up and my ammonia was 8+, my nitrites were 5+, and my nitrites were 5. Last week i tested it again and my ammonia was still 8+, my nitrite was 5+ and my nitrate was 10. Earlier this week i tested again and my ammonia was .25, my nitrites were 5+, and my nitrate was 160+. I did a 50% water change to lower the nitrates which lowered my nitrites to 1.0 and my nitrates to 80, and then last night i did another 50% water change and my nitrates lowered to 40. I know its recommended to not do water changes but i thought that the nitrate levels were too high. Should I stop with the water changes and just wait till the ammonia and nitrite drop off or should i keep doing them to keep the nitrates lower, and if so what levels should i be aiming for. Thanks for any help you guys can give me.

Those numbers seem extremely high. Are you using RO/DI water for make your saltwater and do top-offs? Typically you are suposed to not do any pwc until the cycle is complete. You are aiming for 0-ammonia and 0-nitrite. After you achieve that I believe you can focus on lowering the nitrate before you and any fish.

I'm using spring water for now, after the tank has cycled i was planning on doing a 100% water change using RI/DO water. my goal is to get the ammonia and nitrites to 0 but i was affraid with the nitrate at 160 that would hinder the bacteria from surviving and growing.