Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-26-2014, 12:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
New 75 gal

I found a great deal on a 75 gal and am going to start my first salt water tank will be a reef tank with deep sand bed gonna try and go for a full eco system in my tank lol. Fist saltwater adventure and advice would be much appreciated

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________

__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2014, 11:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
bond300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 86
Check out The Fish Tank Doc. on YouTube!!!!! Very good info!!!!!
__________________

__________________
bond300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 10:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Take things slowly and you cant go wrong did you have any fairly specific questions?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2014, 08:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
Is a protein skimmer needed at first or can that wait till I get my tank going

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2014, 12:19 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbucket72 View Post
Is a protein skimmer needed at first or can that wait till I get my tank going

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
"Needed"? No, but it will make life a lot easier and save you quite a bit of money on salt with water changes. If you want to wait for a skimmer I would highly suggest at the very least the largest refugium you can fit in your stand.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 07:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
Well for the first 3 or 4 months it will be live rock only just to let it do its thing then maybe add a hardy fish and see where it goes before I get too involved building the reef

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 07:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
bond300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbucket72 View Post
Well for the first 3 or 4 months it will be live rock only just to let it do its thing then maybe add a hardy fish and see where it goes before I get too involved building the reef

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
I used the Dr Tim's Bacterial Additive an added to Clowns to start my cycle the added 5lbs of live rock per week. Also I would have my skimmer at the start using AquaC Remora with drain tube no sump needed!
__________________
bond300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:12 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
I got a steal on a excalibur so that's what I'll be using I have a wet/dry filter that I will be using as a sump and a separate 15 gal as a refugium but can't fit the skimmer in the inlet section of the sump so thinking of putting it in the middle where the filter media would normally go. Is this a good or bad idea

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:55 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
Ok I will be selling the wet/dry.
I'm getting a 25 and a 30gal tanks for 40$
so I'm gonna make the 30 the sump and the 25 a refugium.
should definitely be able to fit my skimmer in there can't wait to get everything together and cycling.
Oh and it should be fine to drill the side glass on those tanks right?

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:57 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
How are you going to plumb the 2 separate tanks into the primary one?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 01:59 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
I was gonna have a power head feed the refugium and have it drain back into the return of the sump

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 02:01 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
Or should I have the "dirty"/tank water feed the refugium

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 02:59 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,625
Personally, I think plumbing multiple sumps / refugiums together isnover complicating the process and risking failure ofnone of the parts. If it were me, I would just stick with a single tank as a refugium.
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:36 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
I might have to do that anyways with the bulk head fittings I don't think I'll have the room under my stand

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 04:37 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
O well it will give me room to hide the ato under there

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:05 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
This is the deal I got on Craigslist all for about 300$ just having a hard time deciding what tank to use as a sump/fuge. the 15 gal would be the only one that will fit in the back the 25 and 35 would have to be dropped down in. hoping to have it all set up by tax season

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1412787750923.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	191.6 KB
ID:	252251   Click image for larger version

Name:	1412787772998.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	184.8 KB
ID:	252252  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1412787786146.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	153.5 KB
ID:	252253  
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 05:38 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
Gonna have rke elite 2 165w led lights mag drive 9.5 return pump tunze auto top off and not sure on the wave makers yet

MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 12:23 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 71
With that little space you really don't have room for the fuge. I would just do a sump,or cut a hole in the side to pass the 20 through if you need to, Other stuff takes up room in the sump too you know. 2 tank sump/fuge is asking for trouble.
__________________
JMorris271 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 03:06 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
mudbucket72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: navarre ohio
Posts: 35
Well I removed the plywood from the bottom and put it on the actual bottom I gained about 3 inches enough to put the 35 in and still be able to do maintenance rather easily. Now just need to add some baffles to the sump


MuDbUcKeT72. mts sufferer
__________________
mudbucket72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 09:37 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 71
Nothing like a little creativity
__________________

__________________
JMorris271 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 55 gal and old-ish 16 gal Bubbles0oO Member Introductions 5 01-27-2012 05:10 PM
10 gal FOWLR to 30 gal reef upgrade diary...new pics 6/1/07 newfound77951 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 36 06-01-2007 04:32 PM
Moving contents of 38 gal tank to a new 55 gal tank - help scdc46 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-08-2005 12:03 AM
upgrading 50 gal to a 150 gal tank soon..need help PiscesLou Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-09-2004 02:45 AM
Upgrading tank from 20 gal to 29 gal flipz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 05-01-2004 08:48 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.