New in need of some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Higgy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've been researching saltwater & reef aquariums for about 2 years and finally got a 36 gallon tank for a small room.
Refugium is a reef octopus w/light, skimmer is a Hydor Slim Skim (65g), two Hydor power heads on the way as well. The refugium, skimmer and power heads are on the way (ordered them online). I'm going to be picking up a heater & T5 lights at the LFS.
I'm also going to be getting a reefkeeper in a few months to avoid buying stand alone pH & temp probes, plus I travel alot for business, so the net module seems awesome.
My big question is with the live rock. I purchased it online (BRS fiji dry liverock...37lbs). It says free of parasites, but never mentions cured vs uncured. Can it be done in the new tank? I also purchased 40lbs of live sand as well.
Any insight on the rock, or ideas in general would be greatly appreciated.
:fish2:

you definitely can cycle the rock in your 36 gallon. You will need to add an ammonia source to start the cycle.

I've never owned a ph probe. This is not a necessary item. That might help you in the reefkeeper purchase. unless you like fancy gadgets, it's not going to save you much, since heaters come with built in thermostats. Unless you can race home if something goes wrong, the internet link isn't useful either.

I believe when they say its dry rock it means it was once live and they dried it out so there is NO chance of unwanted hitchhikers. Many people do this for that reason alone. The rock and sand during your cycle will become live again only it will be free of any bad "stuff"

Hopefully more experienced members will chime in but I believe that's the case with dried live rock.