New NanoReef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Somone told me I should start over. Should I?

• No

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Scubagirl12

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Here's my long awaited saltwater aquarium. I've had it for several months but have been slow to add things due to practicality issues, like moving, and money. I am a college student, so the cheaper the better! (I know I know, not a good rule).

I got the 10g tank, filter, and hood cheap on ebay but the light blew when I turned it on and gave up hassling around trying to get it replaced. It is an Oddyssea, which I guess is some foreign brand. Anyways I added my own two lamps at the top with special natural light bulbs (forgot the exact name). I have a bit of crushed coral substrate and plan on adding a thick layer of sand. I have a few seashells, a cowrie shell, and the skeleton of brain coral and a large sea urchin and I have found while scuba diving.

The only livestock I have bought is a small zoanthid frag and 3 snails. Next I would like to get some pulsating xenias. I have notices tons of pods and at least 6 tiny feather dusters!! I have a large piece of algae that I am going to put into an in-tank refugium.

In the future I want lots of coral, a couple of hermits, a cleaner shrimp, and a firefish and/or percula clown and/or pearly jawfish.

I just tested everything and here's the parameters
pH 8.1
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate <10
Alkalinity 3.25
Salinity 1.022
Temperature 75

Lastly, I realized the two lights are just 14W each! What kinda of bulbs would be better and still fit in those lamps?

I see all the cool tanks have wet dry filters. What's the dry part? I see they costs hundreds of dollars! Can I just build one in the back/side of my tank for much cheaper?

Attachments

• dsc_6321small_498.jpg
    dsc_6321small_498.jpg