New Saltwater Tank Starter....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FynFysh818

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone...

I am new to marine life. I have a 37 gallon tank with a backpack protein skimmer and a tronic heater. The backpack came with a powerhead. And I have a themometer. I currently have coral bedding. Am I on the right track?? Do I need any other equipment?

Lights? Some kind of mech filter or several pounds of live rock for filtration? Test kits? Research and good luck.

Opps....Yeah I got a double strip light with a blue light. I havent got any rock yet. I am not sure what kind to get. Does it matter where it comes from? Like Fiji Rock??

It's a matter of preference, cost and availability. You can get some inexpensive base rock for the bottom layers and add some nice pieces of live rock to seed the base rock.

If you are not setup yet you may to rethink your substrate. Crushed coral will be needed to be siphoned regularly to keep detritus from building up. If you dont stay on top of it you will have a problem with nitrates. On the other hand Livesand will help in the reduction of nitrates and does not need to be siphoned. Just an idea for you to think about.

yah, if your ok with it ide switch out the crushed coral for some play sand. the coral is fine it just takes more care. but other then that your doing good. the cpr bak pak is killer. good choice. do you know how many watts the heater is? you really should only need a 50-100 watt heater. if the cpr bak pak came with some bio bale i would use that unless you are planing on going the berlin (click here for more info on the berlin method http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showquestion.php?faq=2&fldAuto=10 )