New setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bray

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello I am new to all this and I currently have a 55 gallon saltwater tank that has about 40 lbs of live rock. I have cured the rock and cycled the tank for about 2 months now. I am running a hang on the back fluval 70 gallon filter and I have a protein skimmer on the way. Can anyone give me advice on setting it up from here, like adding fish and what not. Also Do I need to run a wavemaker or powerhead?

I would definitely add a power head, I run 2 on my 55g. It is important to have water movement. Does the filter move the water any? That would be my next step before adding fish I think. Have you researched all the maintenance of a salt water tank? Do you have test kits? A refractometer? Your water quality is the most important thing to keep stable. What sort of fish do you like? I find its good to list them here to get opinions from others about compatibility...

The filter does move the water but mainly on the surface and about 2-3 inches below. Yes I have the saltwater master test kit and the test for sality. I actually found a good online site thst explains all the info about the fish. I guess my question was what fish are recomended as non agressive type as good starter fish. Also how many fish would be ideal to have in the long run for 55 gallons with the fish size running 1"-3"