new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maui2014

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, Im new to the forum and this is my first post so thanks for taking the time to read this. I am not new to the hobby but I am very new to the salt water aspect. I got married last year and my wife and I visited Maui. we did some snorkeling there and I was stricken by how beautiful the fish and there environment was. this led me to begin looking into keeping a reef tank. I would like to build an acrylic tank any where from 50-100 Gal. and eventually keep some hardy corals and fish. I am planning on doing a 20Gal sump with a large portion of it housing a refugeium and a good protean skimmer. since Im new to all this I was looking for someone who is willing to help guide me. so my questions are; would a 50-100Gal be good for starting? if so is there a particular size thats best? is a 20Gal. sump sufficient filtration? and what kinds of fishes and corals would work in a tank of that size? thank you in advance for any advice and taking the time to help me.

I think 50-75 gallons would be a good size. As the tank gets bigger, the costs go up a lot when it comes to salt for water changes so in this regard a smaller tank is beneficial. Since you are building it, you can do custom dimensions which allows you to fit dimensions to how you are scaping. While in freshwater the bigger you go the better, saltwater can be a little more iffy in this regard. Would you be able to do maintenance on a tank of large size reliably? Do you have the money to set up a larger tank? Do you have the room in your house to do so? These are all important questions to ask when choosing a size in the 50-100 gallon range.

Having said this, I hope I can help you in the future and I am glad you are part of the community.