Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2014, 12:06 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
New tank can't decide on size???

I just came across a 8' x 3' x 20" high (300gallon) with 3 overflows on Kijiji .

Very tempted to get it, also found a 150 gallon, 48"x 30" x 24"

I don't know if I'll even be able to get the bigger tank into my basement,lol
__________________

__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 01:53 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
Here's a place that I bought my big tanks from. They are pretty affordable, and make decent tanks. People complain about them, but these guys are half to two thirds cheaper than the competition. View the sizes and get even more confused...lol.
Glasscages.com - Glass Aquariums
Ha...the sizes are nuts. I wish they listed by nominal gallons or something that made sense. They seem to be listed randomly.

Anyhow, you're (sort of) in my neck of the woods. Did you do pick up at a show, or freight to your door. If the latter, do you recall what it ran you? A 120 from them can't be beat for $300 and change, but since pickup for me is too far (Baltimore and Allentown are both ~2hrs from me), I'm wondering if freight will send the price over the top.
__________________

__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 04:54 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I picked up the 3 tanks at a show in Allentown Pa. It's about an hour north of me. Yes, I believe that an outside carrier would be expensive.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 06:50 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dmolavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,123
Thanks Did you use your own/existing stands or buy theirs? If theirs, how is the quality?

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef (original thread and current update).
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 07:02 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I saw them on the truck. They seemed pretty nice, but I didn't inspect them closely. I put all of the tanks I bought from them in wall, or in a cabinet (I bought an oddly shaped acrylic sump also).
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 07:47 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
So I have narrowed it down to two tanks .

1. A 48"x24"x30"-150gallon

2. A rimless 36"x24"x24"-100g I think.
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 07:50 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
The 2nd tank is a peninsula type with starphire 3 sides
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:51 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
If you are doing a reef, make sure it's shallow. I promise you'll thank me. A 30" tall tank is a PITA....trust me.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 12:12 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
I would agree 30" would be a pain to keep clean unless you're tall and have long arms. It takes quite some time to clean just 24". When I was looking to buy my current tank, there were a lot of them for sale that had 30" or more height. I checked one out, and the first thing the guy said was he was tired of climbing on a step ladder and getting his arm soaked every time he cleaned the glass.
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 12:16 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
it's not a matter of keeping it clean...it's a matter of touching the bottom. How often are your hands in the tank now? Mine are in it almost daily...and i hate getting my armpits in it.
they are in it to kill aptasia, or straighten a knocked over frag, or to knock the sand off of something. I suggest something 21" or less.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 09:45 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
I gotcha. My tank is a FOWLR with some soft corals. No frags are in it as they would get knocked over and never be in the same spot. A new tank over 24" would require more maintenance cleaning the glass/acrylic which would get old quick. Especially if it's a longer tank. The diatom stage would be a pain!
__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 09:57 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
My 800 g is 30", a real pita to reach in there,plus I have to do it from a ladder
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 11:29 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
Ok, picked up the tank today,

It's 36"x24"x24"- rimless peninsula shape with a built in overflow box at the back with two 1.5 " outflow pipes.

I'm going to do a closed loop for circulation, want the clean look of rimless to carry on inside and outside the tank .

I'm thinking I'll drill for a 1.5" bulk head in the center of the bottom piece of glass and run my return through that, then reduce it and run 2x or 3x 3/4" lox lines to the flat/fan type fitting. I will cover the lox line in live rock mostly .

I have an extra reeflo hammerhead hybrid return pump that I'll use, should give me enough flow.

Open to thoughts/ideas on my closed loop and aqua scaping!

Will post pics tomorrow
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 09:38 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I loved my Oceans Motions 4 Way. Put that in your closed loop!
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 01:32 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
What would be better for flow? Closed loop or an mp40?
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 01:39 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
That depends on the closed loop. I had 4 returns on my CL and the OM 4 way would alternate sending water to 2 nozzles at a time. I had a reeflo barracuda powering it. It put random flow through the entire tank. It was costly though, and I had drilled a few holes to pull it off.
An MP 40 might be enough for less money and no drilling.
This is something you will need to decide.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:42 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392673242.622922.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	192.6 KB
ID:	223199Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392673283.637314.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	221.9 KB
ID:	223200Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1392673315.151202.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	197.8 KB
ID:	223201
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:45 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
Here's the tank.

Started building my stand.

Using cedar 6x6 for the corners ,cut at 30". Then I will use 2x6 like joists as cross members.

Still undecided about closed loop. Have been reading up and read about a few failed bulk head seals. Hearing that is making me a little uneasy about drilling the bottom pane.
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 05:47 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
audifusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ajax,ON
Posts: 336
What would look better?

Open stand ie; you can see the underneath and through or cover all sides
__________________
audifusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 06:08 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Airgoose2222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 442
For me, I prefer enclosed as it suppresses the noise. It's up to you though. If you want it open at times, you could attach the front using cabinet magnets. They make it easy to remove panels if you want to see and have better access to your system.
__________________

__________________
Airgoose2222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank, size, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Decide On Which Tank RWH1986 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 06-20-2012 06:38 AM
Help me decide how many neon tetras this tank can support? korith Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 29 09-29-2008 10:45 PM
I just can't decide on fish!!!! Andyvette Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-18-2006 02:59 PM
Can't decide magnum or cascade piranha General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 08-02-2004 12:03 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.